Chocolate Covered Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Should've never made it. Now I'm making several batches every Christmas. Everyone says it tastes like Milky Way caramel. I used dark brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
As a novice I liked the simplicity of the recipe (we didn't dip them because we were afraid the chocolate would get gritty before we could eat them all but we did sprinkle sea salt on before set and they turned out perfectly. To others not experienced: spray your pan then line with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, using a candy thermometer. Horribly disappointing. The caramels are hard enough to break teeth. I could barely cut them when cooled, and now that they are chilled, they have returned to a single, massive block. I have no idea if they are salvageable. I'm not sure I wish to try, for fear of the dental bills. Searching for a different recipe... Also, 1 inch squares in an 8 X 8 pan are going to give you 64 servings and never 120.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Allowing the crystals to fall back into the cooked mixture will cause a "super saturation" of the sugar/water mix, and THAT is what causes crystallization and a "grainy" product! Got hard fudge? STOP scraping your pan! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missy
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
First time making caramel. These were delicious and very easy to make. I followed the recipe and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I make a pecan pie with caramels and I’d run out. We were hit with ‘artic cold front’ and driving to a store was not an option for a couple of days. Researching caramel recipes – this looked easiest – and oh my – is this recipe - OH SO GOOD – I was only able to get the temperature up to 110 and it was bubbling all over a little dramatically - and then I totally forgot the vanilla until after filled a 13x9 pan. Even forgetting the vanilla this is an amazing recipe. I think it will be a rare time I buy caramels again. I make pecan pie for my 85 year old dad retired in Florida, pack it up and mail it to him. I’ll be sending some caramels too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These are, quite literally, the best chocolate caramels I have ever had. I added a bit of salt to the caramel and it has the perfect amount of sweetness to it. I made them for Christmas presents and had to hide them in the downstairs deep freeze so they wouldn't disappear before the 25th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I was looking for a caramel recipe for my turtles this year, as you can no longer cook a can of condensed milk ( all the cans I have found have the pop top, so can no longer do the cook for 4 hours flipping the can over every hour,..) and this recipe is the bomb! I loved it, was so easy, and tastes delish! Thank you for sharing!! I'm cooking my second batch today just to make the chocolate dipped caramels :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I've always been afraid of making caramels but these were so easy, and so delicious! I added about 1/2 - 3/4 tsp of salt at the end with the vanilla since I like salted caramels better, but other than that I followed the recipe to a "T" with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Tried 3 times to make these caramels and so far, not a single edible caramel. I've gotten lots of practice cleaning up sticky messes. They always turn out with dark splotches and look terribly unappetizing. Probably cheaper for me to buy them at the store already made. Wouldn't let me give 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States