Chocolate Covered Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Omit the butter when melting the chocolate to dip the caramel in and you will have HEAVENLY candy!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This recipe is very similar to one I lost somewhere in the shuffle, so I was very pleased to find it. I do candy gift baskets every Christmas. Anyway, I had a suggestion. For a change, and the coffee lover on your list, add 1 Tbsp instant coffee crystals & 1 ounce unsweeted chocolate with the butter. Mocha caramels made easy. Thanks for helping me revive my caramel recipe that I was afraid might be lost forever. I always forget how much butter to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Have used this recipe for years, but have taken the last few off and not made them. This year they have been demanded, not just requested! lol. This year I introduced my 9 1/2 yr old daughter to the "family recipe" and she is so proud! She only stirred in the beginning, once it got to bubbling I took over. This year I will dip some, leave some naked and others will get a fancy coating with drizzles of the opposite type of chocolate on them (white on chocolate and vice versa) I will also make some with sea salt as I'm addicted to the salted caramels! Thanks to the original poster for my all time favorite treat to make for friends and family! A few years ago I also laid out a flat layer of salted pretzels and poured the caramel over it, heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG42200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
These were soooo good! I never made caramels, but these really were easy. I can hardly believe I am saying this - but I actually liked the plain ones better than the choc covered. I do wish I had taken one reviewer's advice and just spread the chocolate chips on top of the caramel layer. One question I have is how does using an 8" pan cut in 1" squares equal 120 pieces?? Where I went to school, that would be 64 pieces. I used a large cake pan instead. I think they would have been VERY thick in a 8" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
SO good! And amazingly easy. These came out the perfect texture. I used almond bark coating that I added semi sweet chips to - it keeps them from being too sweet and doesn't turn gray. My husband demolished the whole batch within days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
EXCELLENT RECIPE! THEY TURNED OUT PERFECT - VERY CHEWY AND CREAMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Swanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I have never made caramels before, but this recipe was easy to follow and the results were fantastic. Dipping each caramel in chocoloate seemed like too much work for me, so I poured half of the caramel in the pan, sprinkled a layer of semi-sweet chocolate chips and poured the rest of the caramel over it. A fraction of the work with all the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Happily, these aren't as super-sweet as my husband expected them to be. I poured the recipe into a 9 x 13" pan and cut them into 3/4" squares. This gave me about 150 caramels. I used the carmels for Lisa's "Caramel Filled Chocolate Cookies" (Cookie Cookbook). I had a hard time getting them out of the pan after refrigerating, so I just worked with them at room temperature. These would make an excellent Christmas gift for the caramel-lover on your list. Thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I had never attempted making caramels before this so I was worried but surprisingly, this recipe could not have turned out any better! The caramels are rich and creamy and so flavorful. Next time I make them, though, I will keep half of the batch without chocolate because after a few days, the chocolate gets a little bit crusty/grainy. But if you eat them while they are fresh, they're fabulous. The caramels without chocolate, however, keep fresh for a long time. VERY good recipe...thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Super easy and really yummy caramel. I made it without the chocolate and added 1/2 tsp of salt to bring out the flavor. Note that this caramel will stick to wax paper. Wrap these in plastic wrap if you want individually wrapped pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States