Chocolate Covered Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Very easy to make, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
These are the yummiest, creamiest caramels ever. Easy to make too!! They became a quick family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
What an endeavor this was! We cooled the caramel out in the garage until set and ready to coat with chocolate. I cut into small squares and tried to remove from pan in square form, but no luck. The caramel is a nice soft, yummy caramel and did not hold its shape. During the dipping process they lost their shape even more. Ended up lining counters with GREASED wax paper, making caramel mounds and spooning chocolate over them, one set we flipped them over and covered them from the other side. Had we had whole pecans they would have made beautiful turtles! We doubled the batch and tired of this after about one whole batch--cut wax paper squares, greased my hands and rolled plain caramels. These were wonderful! Just like the large Vande Walles caramels that you can get a couple for a buck:) Stored these in the garage and fridge to keep cool, at room temperature they stick to the wrappers. After all was said and done I said we were never going to attempt these again because I wasn't aware of what we were taking on. But rave reviews have me thinking that next Christmas maybe we'll just make one batch and wrap all of them in waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Very good!! I didn't cook it long enough so it didn't firm up all the way.(Next time I won't leave my thermometer at home!!) So I popped it into the freezer, pulled it out and shaped into balls and put toothpicks in them then popped them back in the freezer. Then I took them out and dipped them in the chocolate....the chocolate kept them from falling apart..I also added some wax to the chocolate to help with the dipping and hardening....thanks for this easy and yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I have made this recipe a few times now and always get rave reviews. I followed this recipe axactly but omitted the chocolate coating and they were great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Help! I have tried the recipe twice but my caramels came out way to hard. The 2nd time I used the lower end of the temperature range. The flavor is wonderful though, but they are way too hard. Did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I found this recipe to be very messy and hard to work with. The caramels stuck together and dipping in the chocolate was a disaster. The taste is good but the end result was not very pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This is a great recipe...A candy thermometre is definitely needed! You can pick one up at any dollar store for a dollar! That's where I got mine! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! This recipe is sooo easy! I just made my 1st batch tonight and I was really impressed how stress-free it was to make these. I don't plan on dipping them in chocolate 'cause i think that it might be a bit over the top, but I will keep this recipe for it is a real treasure, especially how a good caramel recipe is hard to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
We made these chocolate covered caramels last year and they are simply to die for. I'm a big fan of chewy caramel with rich flavors and dark smooth chocolate. Together, this created a real treat. My tip for getting them to stay their shape and look pretty, is cut them into squares and then refrigerate them so they're cool when you put the warm chocolate on them. The best way I've found to put chocolate on them is to use a pastry brush and just pick up the caramel and paint the bottom, then the top. It works wonderful and they look great. I then put them on wax paper and put in the fridge right away. I found some great chocolate boxes and accessories at Michael's craftstore and I'm going to gift these for Valentine's this year. The caramel taste of this treat is very addicting...Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States