Chocolate Covered Caramel Surprise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I liked this recipe & will use it again. It has great flavor. I would give a 5 as a perfect addition to my cookie trays except I found it's not mentioned in the recipe to cool completely on the pan verses not transferring to wire rack. I saw they were starting to fall & caught most I'm time before having a Carmel mess to clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I've made these twice (without the frosting). They are fabulous and everyone loves them! I made them for my grandsons birthday and everyone was asking for the recipe. I used Rolo's one time, but Doves choc. covered caramel the second. They were just as good both times. I highly recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I just won an cookie contest with these! Although I put a small peanut butter cup in each one, omitted the white chocolate and sugar, and placed a peanut on top of each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good ... wrapping the caramel is tedious ... use caramel that will melt and spread easily. Make sure there are no openings on the bottom for it to leak through. In addition, I tried cooling them upside down sometimes ... I skipped the white chocolate drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I hope this is the same recipe I've used in the past! I lost my other one. The dough is chilling now! We call them Santa Surprises at our house and only make them at Christmastime. I am excited to try some of the suggestions I've read! One thing I like to do is change up the candy. We use Rolos and Snickers and today I'm going to try York Peppermint Patties! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These were very rich and chocolaty. I did chill the dough for about half an hour prior to rolling and baking since my dough felt a bit too sticky to handle at first. I also used parchment paper which made getting them off a tray very easy, and waited about 3 minutes prior to removing from the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are great. After awhile of playing with them, I finally figured out how to do it. I kept a pile of powdered sugar in front of me on parchment paper, so I could put my palm and finger tips in it to keep them coated. I would take a TBLSP. of dough out [approximately] and put it in the palm of my hand, flatten with finger tips to a size of a small pancake, put your caramel in center, fold up sides and pinch close. Roll between your two palms. Keep putting your fingers in the powdered sugar as needed. Roll in sugar. Scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
A hit at the ladies cookie exchange during the holiday season! Also a hit year-round. I've made them with mini reeses, rolos, and junior mints in the middle. I made these for my roommates when I first moved in and one exclaimed, "dang girl, you sure can bake a cookie!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Yancey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
These cookies are always a hit & there are never any left. It helps to keep the unwrapped candies in the freezer until you are ready to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
It took such a long time! Even though I chilled the dough,within minutes of taking it out, the dough was melting in my hands. Also, my first batch was too soft when I followed the 10 minute bake time. So for the second and third batches (I had to bake 3 batches to finish the dough!) I baked it for 25 minutes and it turned out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States