Chocolate Covered Caramel Surprise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
These were delicious..time consuming but worth it..I used Brachs caramels..Next time I will try Kraft..caramels were a bit hard and chewy..Hoping a different brand might be more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I have made this recipe several times- it is always a hit! People love it! I use Rolos and I don't bother with the white chocolate, it is decadent enough without it. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
These are phenomenal!!!! These will be the new "go-to" cookies in our house. They are rich, so it is easy not to over-indulge. It is easy to over do it on the sugar coating; a little goes a long way on the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have been making these cookies for years and everyone loves them! I use Rolos as well and find it works best if I let the dough sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours before I wrap them around the candies, it makes it much easier to work with. Since it is a time consuming recipe, I always at least double the recipe. When I make the cookies I put the balls of dough (uncooked)on a cookie sheet and put them in the freezer for an hour, then you can transfer them to a freezer bag--you have a bunch already made up and can make as few or as many as you want when you want some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I made over 300 of these for our fellowship's Vacation Bible School and everyone LOVED them. We baked them right there on the campus so they were still warm and nicely gooey. I didn't bother with the white chocolate drizzled over the top to make things easier. (I also made one that had a York peppermint patty in it instead of a Rolo and that one was even better than the original.) Mine didn't look like the ones in the picture. Mine flattened out a lot more and had deep cracks like molasses cookies. Now, if you'll excuse me, I need to print up copies of the recipe for the many people who requested it from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have made these cookies several times. They are best warm out of the oven. I use rolos and leave out the pecans. They dough is sticky when you have to put it around the rolo. I have found that if you spray your hands with some Pam it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Just wondering why use 48 chocoalte covered carmels to make 18 cookies??? Think it's a typo. Anyways, my grandma use to make these all the time and they are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These are sooo good! I used caramel and mint hershey kisses. I skipped the white chocolate at the end. They are so good they don't even need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Excellent cookie! With a very fudgie base, I found using a cookie baller and a floured finger to work best for stuffing the 'ball'. load up the scoop, squish a rolo inside, and seal. I also did not drizzle choc. over the top (didn't have any :)and they were great just like that. I doubled the recipe and got just over 6 dozen evenly sized balls... one perk about the cookie scoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Polk City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Garrett
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Instant keeper. I omitted the pecans, used 26 caramels (recipe made 26 cookies), slightly warmed and flattened and I was out of white chocolate chips so I used butterscotch. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States