Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I lost my Gran's recipe & was so happy 2 find the same one here! The recipe tastes great as written but over the years I've made a few changes(according to my personal taste)and with a few small adjustments, I prefer it. So, I thought I'd share. Firstly, instead of white sugar, I use 1/2 C packed brown sugar. The molasses in the brown sugar makes this pudding taste richer. The original recipe calls for 3 Tbs cocoa, I heap my Tbs to make it a bit more chocolately. I also find 1/4 C cornstarch was a little too much for me, as the pudding went as firm as jello the next day instead of staying creamy. If u add just over half that amount & cook it slightly longer it gels less. Of course, if you like it that way or are using this recipe to make a chocolate pie or square that you want to keep it's shape when cut, then you'll want to use the full amount. Lastly, I always use evaporated milk when cooking. It just tastes creamier to me. Thanks for posting this recipe, Kelly! Update,July 09: To avoid lumps, put 1st 4 ingredients in saucepan and mix well. If there are any lumps, get in there with your fingers and work them out. If you don't want to do it with your hands you can use a sifter or push them through a sieve. You must have a smooth, lump-free powder before you add your liquid. I also use a whisk and constantly stir. Lastly, it will sometimes thicken before it boils but I find if I don't let it boil for even just 10 seconds, I can taste the cornstarch in it. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
701 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Very very easy pudding. I also used three 'heaping' teaspoons of the cocoa, since I really enjoy a nice deep chocolate flavor. Make sure not to overcook, and never boil or it tends to try and lump up on you, but that can be resolved with a brisk whisking as the mixture starts to cool. Another tip is when you put it in the fridge to cool completly, try to make sure you have brought it down to about lukewarm temperature outside the fridge, I whisk away at it while having the sink filled about an inch or two deep with cold water and some ice cubes, really cuts down on the wait time for that. AND when you finally do put it in the fridge, use some plastic wrap to cover but make sure the plastic is lying directly on top of the pudding, actually touching it all the way over the top. This seems to prevent that top layer of strange congealed pudding you sometimes get when the pudding sits for awhile,which taste fine, but is a bit odd compared to the creamy pudding underneath it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
OMG! This is heavenly and easy! My only suggestion is to, like the recipe says, make sure you bring it to a boil. Mine JUST started boiling, but it stuck to the spoon and because I was worried about it burning, I removed it from the heat. I think had I let it boil for just moments longer it would have been thicker. FYI, I used skim milk. I thought it had a very rich flavor and definitely took care of my pregnant chocolate craving. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Maybe not five stars as an intricate, elaborate dessert, but certainly five stars for a humble, homemade chocolate pudding. Perfectly sweet. Perfectly chocolatey. Perfectly creamy and comforting. I made no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I have my grandmother's chocolate pudding pie recipe, well HAD it, and couldn't find it today when my 10-year old son and I wanted to make it, so I looked on Allrecipes. Found this one and made it as the ingredient list is the same, just different proportions. It is very, very good. I baked a pie crust and poured the warm pudding into it; am waiting for it to chill. But, as I doubled the recipe there was a good bit leftover and son and I have tried it. This is almost exactly the flavor of the recipe I've lost! I'm so happy and son is too! Chocolate pudding pie is a three-generation family favorite for us, so I am really picky about how I make it. This recipe is smooth, creamy, not too sweet when made properly. Be sure to cook over MEDIUM heat and don't get in a hurry after it boils, give it a few more minutes. Put plastic wrap on it to avoid the "skin."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
YUM! This recipe gets five stars not only because it tastes so good, but also because it's TWO desserts in one. You have your pudding.. and spoon some into some popsicle molds and you have homemade fudgecicles! I used splenda instead of sugar so the texture was a little different, but I don't mind the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This was sooooo good!!!! I am never buying the boxed pudding mixes again! I spooned this pudding into popcicle molds and made some fantastic homemade pudding pops. This pudding is also good poured hot over brownies with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. My diet is shot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
My usual chocolate pudding recipe calls for 1 egg...and I just ran out. So I decided to make this and it turned out great. 1/2 cup of sugar wasn't quite sweet enough for me, so next time I might try 3/4 cup. I reduced the amount of butter to about 1 tbls. but no other changes. Thanks Kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
FANTASTIC!!! Oh my goodness, I'm going to be making this all the time... it's just as fast and easy as making up a boxed pudding, but so, so, SO much better. The butter adds so much. Didn't change a thing, except added some almond extract second time I made it. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
My daughter Kelly submitted this (my) recipe a number of years ago...this is still my favorite, after all these years. I've been reading some of the reviews. I now make this recipe with only 1/3 Cup of white sugar. I also heap the cocoa measurements. Also, after cooling a bit, place plastic wrap right down over the top of the pudding and this prevents the rubbery film from forming. DO NOT REDUCE THE CORNSTARCH MEASUREMENT.If it's too think you're over cooking it, if it's too thin...you're under cooking. I've found this recipe to be virtually fool proof. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States