Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Almost instant gratification with this recipe but it cooled quickly enough to dive right in! I also like that it uses no eggs. I had dark brute cocoa powder for a darker chocolate flavor. Will no doubt make this again. (so good to use as a dip for bananas and orange segments, pineapple too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I have to comment on this one! Pudding sounds so simple, and this one is a snap to put together, but the flavors & smooth texture sets it apart. I make this at least once a week (or more). Only changes for personal taste, is I only use 1.5 Tablespoons cocoa (I know ... what??) but I prefer it to be a lighter chocolate flavor. I've also used brown & white sugar 1/4 c each. The key is to combine it as suggested, on the stove so you can whisk away while cooking it! Cook until it really coats the back of that spoon, mine usually lightly boils for 1 minute or so. Whisk the whole time. Add the butter & vanilla at the end and this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I used 3 heaped tablespoons of cacao and found the pudding rich and chocolatey. This recipe has become a family favourite. I have made it around 10 times since discovering it. Yum! Update: I must have made this pudding a dozen times but tonight I was a bit short on the cornstarch and I noticed that the pudding was very thin. I hope it's all right. :-( Follow-up Update: Pudding turned out delicious just the same! I LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Love, Love, Love this recipe. Yes, make sure it comes to a boil, yes, add a little extra cocoa and cornstarch if you want it thicker. Amazing and as easy as boxed but 100% better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I tried making it, but the milk was burnt. But the flavor indeed was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I followed someones advice and used a little less than 1/4 cup cornstarch and it was perfect. Also used 3 heaping tablespoons cocoa. I also added about 1/3 cup semi sweet chocolate chips to give it a richer chocolate flavor right before taking off heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Wonderful way to use my milk that was near the expiration date. The family enjoyed this tasty treat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Simple, easy and fast for a homemade recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Who knew homemade chocolate pudding is just as easy to make as the boxed stuff? And it tastes SO much better! I was craving something chocolatey last night, but my baking supplies are running low, so I used what I had in my cupboard to do an ingredient search on this site, and this is what popped up. I'm glad it did! I made pretty much as stated, but subbed smart balance spread for the butter as that's all I had. I used 1% milk and I used heaping tablespoons of cocoa powder as suggested by many, and I added in a handful(1/4 cup?) of chocolate chips when I added the butter. Wow, it was just fantastic! I know it says 4 servings, but it only lasted my mom and I through our Sunday night tv shows(Big Brother, The Last Ship and Falling Skies). I can't comment on how it is chilled since it never made it that far, but it does form a "skin" on top even just cooling on the counter. I'm sure plastic wrap directly on it would help, but my mom likes the "skin" she says that's how REAL chocolate pudding should be and it tasted just like her mom used to make for her growing up! I will be making this again(after grocery day)on Thursday when my mom is over to catch up on our shows of the week(Big Brother, Under the Dome and Extant), I doubt the pudding will last through that! I may try to add some peanut butter or mint extract in it this time, just so many possibilities! Thanks so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Deliciuos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States