Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by MARICAM58
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this recipe as written with no substitutions or alterations and it came out just fine. The flavor and creamy consistency of the pudding is worth a solid four-plus stars but I gave it five stars overall because of the simplicity of the recipe, and I value simplicity especially when the results are this good. I used a whisk first to combine the dry ingredients and then to incorporate the milk until the mixture came to a boil. I finished cooking the pudding with a metal spoon so I could see how it coated the spoon, then used the whisk again to blend in the butter and vanilla. I used Hershey's "Special Dark" cocoa and while it was quite delicious, I agree with another reviewer who said this pudding is only as good as the cocoa. While I like Special Dark for making brownies, I'm eager to try this recipe again using a better quality cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARICAM58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was very yummy.. I wanted it for a pie so I made a few changes.. You can add 1tsp of Cinnamon. I also did Brown sugar instead of White, I heaped the cocoa powder like one lady suggested and I did a 1/2 cup of Cornstarch instead of the 1/3C. It was really yummy.. I will make this again. Thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made this with soy milk for my daughter due to a dietary restriction and it was perfect! From start to finish it took me less than 5 minutes. This recipe is very basic, so you really notice the quality (or non-quality) of your cocoa powder. I used a high-quality Dutch process cocoa and it was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Comes out perfect every time. I use almond milk and dark cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made this recipe several times with only two modifications. I use almond milk since I don't drink cow's milk and I use brown sugar since I never seem to have white sugar. I got tired of always having to look the recipe up so I finally decided to save time by mixing a large batch of the dry ingredients together so I have my own pudding mix. I altered the number of servings on the site to figure out how much of each ingredient to mix. When I am ready to make pudding I just add 2/3 cup of dry ingredients to a pot and 2 cups of milk to the pot. This is a slightly smaller amount than the 4 serving recipe listed here. It is about 2 cups of pudding. Works great everytime. The leftovers are great cold but I prefer warm chocolate pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is an Awesome recipe, so glad I tried it. I even used coconut milk and it turned out beautifully! OMG it is so good!, only downfall... I had to go in for a second spoonful while it was still hot, burned my tongue..lol. I am DEFINITELY making this again, and again, and again :D _ The people who said its too thin, either didn't cook it long enough or didn't use the 1/4 cup cornstarch. This is a no fail recipe. The texture and thickness of this pudding are PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Topped it with cheese and ate it warm. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Lovely! I made the batch 1 1/2 times the ingredients for a nice thick chocolate cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I cooked this in the microwave. Easy. 10 minutes on high, whisking every 2.5 minutes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Yum! Just made it and it's still pretty warm, but tasted it and it's delicious. I had Godiva cocoa powder on hand, which worked out wonderfully. The family is all in different parts of the house. I wonder if there'll be any left by dinner time???? Hmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States