Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Oh my goodness this cheesecake was sooooooo good!! I didn't make any changes to the recipe except that I added a couple of handfuls of chocolate chips to the batter which only added to the decadence. Also, I found that the cookie crumb crust was too loose, (I had crumbs everywhere when I sliced it) it could use a couple more tablespoons of butter to bind it. A lot of people complained of the sour cream layer but I have to tell you that the layer of sour cream cut the sweetness of the chocolate top and gave it a wonderful zing that really worked. Not an everyday kind of cake, but a real keeper for those very special occasions. I give it two thumbs up and will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is awesome! So many flavors that meld together deliciously. Impressive presentation too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was just excellent. I made it for my husband for Valentine's day and he has raved about it for a whole week. He even posted about it on facebook (which he never does). I was worried about the sour cream layer but it tasted great! I will add more cookies to the filling next time and omit the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This recipe was delicious, the only suggestion I would make would be not to precook the cookie crust; just cook everything together at once. I also used everything Fat Free, Reduced Fat, Splenda instead of Sugar, Egg Beaters instead of Eggs, so it does take a little longer to cook, but just be patient it's worth cutting the calories for this decadent dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I had to size it down because my pan is only 8 inches. Pretty good recipe, but I did change some things. I used milk instead of heavy whipping cream, and I skipped the sour cream layer and the chocolate layer. These just seemed to make it too rich, so instead I crumbled more cookie chunks on top and drizzled a little bit of caramel. I was going to drizzle a little chocolate on top, but didn't have any. However, I did use about 1 TBL of dutch cocoa and marbled it into the cheesecake. It was a hit!!! And it was a great way to use up some of the chocolate cookies we had left from a party. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Like most, I was skeptical about the sour cream layer and ran out of room. I'm surprised everyone is rating 5 stars when they are modifying the recipe. Omitting the sour cream layer or reducing the recipes for the filling or crust means the recipe is not perfect. I find it interesting that 50% of the 5-star reviews have alterations. That being said, I did use a 9 inch pan. I was happy with the consistency of the filling before the sour cream layer. Like most, I was out of room but added it, and 7 minutes to bake the sour cream it a little odd to me. Part of it was firmer and the center was gooey. I used at most half of the ganache mixture. I've made cheesecake before and know the basics... but I have to truly say to readers that reading all the reviews is helpful. Don't go by all the five star reviews and the few make-as-is claims.. Read up and remember there is a reason why reviewers are altering the recipe or reviewing 5 stars when ALTERING the recipe. Cake is very fluffy, sour cream comes out creamy (almost seems raw,but cream and sugar.. what to expect), way too much mixture with all ingredients (16 oz of sour cream is a regular full tub). I would omit the sour cream and add more butter to crust, reduce filling in order to get ganache on.. and only make half of the ganache. You can easily save $10 in preparation by not following the recipe and wasting ingredients. Try before you bring to your parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I work in a family-owned restaurant, and we recently decided to add cheesecake to the menu. I made this a few days ago, and it sold out in one day!I'm going to be making this regularly. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanellno5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Really, how can you go wrong with a recipe like this? It wasn't the most beautiful cheesecake I ever made (assumingly b/c of the weighty additions to the batter and top,) but it was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
very rich and tall! The cake goes all the way up to the rim of the springform pan. It's a very decadent cheesecake which I'd probably make once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Didn't like it, not really.... Not as good as cheesecake I used to make. Surely won't make it again. Giving 2 stars just for a look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States