Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Like most, I was skeptical about the sour cream layer and ran out of room. I'm surprised everyone is rating 5 stars when they are modifying the recipe. Omitting the sour cream layer or reducing the recipes for the filling or crust means the recipe is not perfect. I find it interesting that 50% of the 5-star reviews have alterations. That being said, I did use a 9 inch pan. I was happy with the consistency of the filling before the sour cream layer. Like most, I was out of room but added it, and 7 minutes to bake the sour cream it a little odd to me. Part of it was firmer and the center was gooey. I used at most half of the ganache mixture. I've made cheesecake before and know the basics... but I have to truly say to readers that reading all the reviews is helpful. Don't go by all the five star reviews and the few make-as-is claims.. Read up and remember there is a reason why reviewers are altering the recipe or reviewing 5 stars when ALTERING the recipe. Cake is very fluffy, sour cream comes out creamy (almost seems raw,but cream and sugar.. what to expect), way too much mixture with all ingredients (16 oz of sour cream is a regular full tub). I would omit the sour cream and add more butter to crust, reduce filling in order to get ganache on.. and only make half of the ganache. You can easily save $10 in preparation by not following the recipe and wasting ingredients. Try before you bring to your parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I work in a family-owned restaurant, and we recently decided to add cheesecake to the menu. I made this a few days ago, and it sold out in one day!I'm going to be making this regularly. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanellno5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Really, how can you go wrong with a recipe like this? It wasn't the most beautiful cheesecake I ever made (assumingly b/c of the weighty additions to the batter and top,) but it was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
very rich and tall! The cake goes all the way up to the rim of the springform pan. It's a very decadent cheesecake which I'd probably make once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Didn't like it, not really.... Not as good as cheesecake I used to make. Surely won't make it again. Giving 2 stars just for a look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Wow, is this great or what??! Made this for my Christmas dessert and everyone enjoyed it. Very, very rich, so as some suggested I didn't cut big pieces (which was fine with me because I brought the leftovers home and ate them throughout the week!!) I followed this recipe as directed, since this was my first time making a cheesecake. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steadybdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was excellent. I made this in a 9x13 pan. Got rave reveiws. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Amazing!!! The best desert i have ever tasted. This is perfection that is worth it every bit of effort you put into it. This is truly special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WP Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
WOW the best cheesecake ever, I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I made this for dessert for xmas dinner and everyone raved about it. I read that some people were having trouble with the cookies being gooey in the crust so to prevent this I chopped the cookies for the crust in the food processor and it worked perfectly. Will make this one time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States