Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great recipe. I love cheesecake and I have made many different recipes which always get raving reviews. But this one tops all recipes I made. It is absolutely divine. I followed the recipe, but I did use more cookies for both the base and the layer in between. Thank you for a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loughborough, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
very rich, good... but took incredibly long to set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beesandbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Unreal!! Everyone loved it. I think I put on about 5lbs, but well worth it. My roomate wants me to make these cheesecakes at his wedding now even after going to the pros'. He is very picky and rated this desert to be in his "top 5" of alltime. I used a thin layer of brownie mix and baked it until set (30-40min) for the bottom crust and crushed double stuff Oreo in the middle of the cheesecake. I would do everything the same except less semisweet chocolate chips because it makes the cheesecake a little too rich for my taste, but maybe that's the only thing keeping me from eating it all in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WileyP
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Excellent, Millie Ellis - Thanks for posting it! I read every review (gak!) before deciding to do it just as written, then adjusting it later if needed. Guess what. It isn't needed! The crust needed 20 Oreo cookies (NOT "Double-Stuff"!) and the 2 Tbsp of butter, while seeming a little shy, ended up just right. I used the full tsp of cinnamon was barely noticeable and went well with the rest of the cheesecake. I used a 9" spring-form, but only poured about 3/4 of the filling batter into it, leaving about an inch of space at the top. Even that was a tad too much, as it rose substantially during cooking. There was room for only about 1/3 of the sour cream layer, which is okay by me, because I'm not really fond of it. After the final baking, the whole cake sunk a little (as evidenced by the picture). I did take the ring off before adding the gnocchi, and, since it sunk a little, I did have room for all of it. Had it not sunk a little, the gnocchi would have dribbled down the side, and that would have been fine, too. A hint when making the gnocchi to keep it from getting too hard: Heat the cream until just steaming, remove it from the heat, then whisk in the chocolate chips and vanilla. I had hoped that the cookie chunks layer would have a little crunch left, but it didn't. With the lovely, crunchy crust, I think that I will leave the cookie chunks out next time. The filling's texture was just right and the flavor was wonderful. All in all, a great cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Taste was great. I would probably put on less chocolate topping. It was under cooked, but it is probably an issue with my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Wow! My family LOVED and raved about it but honestly, I impressed myself. This cheesecake takes some time to complete between cooking, cooling, refrigerating, etc. so you need to plan ahead and make time. But believe me, it is WELL worth it. Made a few changes based on other reviews. (1) Previous reviewer mentioned the crust was "gooey" and they thought it was b/c of the cream filling so I used 1 cup of Oreo cookies as is and a second cup w/o the filling. Then I blended the 2 cups before pressing the crumbs into the pie plate. Worked great. (2) Didn't add cinnamon to the crust. I'm not really sure I would have liked the crust as much if it had been added. (3) Another review mentioned topping the crust with a bowl when cooling to retain moisture and prevent the crust from cracking. Worked great! (4) Filling with cookie CHUNKS not crumbs. (5) Wasn't sure about the sour cream topping but it was awesome and looks authentic. I suggest keeping this although others opted to use other toppings. (6) Generously drizzled chocolate across the top in both directions which not only looked great but provided just enough chocolate w/o taking away from the taste of the cheesecake. Therefore next time I will only make 1/2 of the chococlate suggested. My family agreed that a full topping of chocolate would have been too much. Made this last week and I'm making it again today for the other side of my family. They have GOT to taste this. WELL worth the time. Thanks for posting! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great cheese cake. I did not use the sour cream layer but instead topped it with chocolate moose. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
We loved this! My kids could not get enough, and it made a huge impression on my mother-in-law, who declared it was the best thing she had ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I generally don't use the sour cream topping. I add extra butter to the crust, which helps a lot. I also use a water bath while baking to prevent cracking, and allow the cake to refridgerate at least one day before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahubrex
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
my husband loved this, i had to cook it about 15 minutes longer than the recipe calls for and the center was still a little runny. Other than that it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahubrex

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States