Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
WOW! This is creamy, beautiful tasting and looking and is a terrific dessert which has to be made ahead (love that idea!) Not too difficult and a show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I only had a 9inch pan, so i did not have room for the sour cream layer. I still added the chocolate layer. It was fantastic! I can't wait to make it again with the sour cream layer this time. I had people coming by just for desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I followed the recipie exactly (except I left out the cinnamon in the crust) and it turned out perfect and delicious. I made it for my mother-in-law for Mother's Day and I was so nervouse that it wouldn't turn out. I shouldn't have worried. It exceeded my expectations. I'm a very beginner cook so if I can make this anyone can! I would suggest reading the directions several times ahead of time so you have clear idea of what you'll be doing. That helped me out a lot! I think this will become my standard company dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisternumber4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I loved this cheesecake! I didn't do the sour cream top cause it was getting late and I needed to finish up. YUMMY! Will make again. I will up the flour to about 1/4cup to make it thicker. Thanks for the awesome recipe. (also I didnt use the cinn or brown sugar in the crust and it turned out perfectly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This cheesecake is absolutely one of the best I've ever made. For the crust, I took out the 'whites' of the Oreos and just crushed the chocolate wafers. But I followed the recipe exactly and it produced a luscious, creamy, decadent cheesecake that tastes absolutely phenomenal. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Excellent! I read most of the reviews and decided to leave the cinnamon in the crust and then when making it I forgot to add it. I will however try to remember to put it in next time I make this cheesecake. As far as the crust, I did not find it mushy as others did. I did not however add the 1/4 cup brown sugar to the crust. Oreo cookies are sweet enough without adding more sugar to them. I did add about 8 more cookies though and an extra tbsp. of butter. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup rather than the 1 1/4 cup in the recipe. My cookies were in nice big chunks inside the cheesecake. When I pulled the cheesecake out of the oven and before adding the sour cream layer which I also reduced the sugar to about half, I did let the cheesecake rest about 5 minutes before putting it back in the oven for the additional 7 minutes. I turned off the oven and left the cheesecake in the oven for 1 hour rather that a 1/2 hour, then I cracked the door and left it in the oven until just about room temp. Then I refrigerated the cheesecake and when it was nice and firm the next day I topped it with the chocolate topping. I did use about half of what was required, just enough to cover the top. After the chocolate was cold and firm on the top I removed the outer ring and cut it into 16 peices with a fishing line to ensure nice neat slices that could be easily removed. Everyone oooed and aaaed and several people asked for the recipe. Make sure you start this several days in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great recipe. I love cheesecake and I have made many different recipes which always get raving reviews. But this one tops all recipes I made. It is absolutely divine. I followed the recipe, but I did use more cookies for both the base and the layer in between. Thank you for a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loughborough, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
very rich, good... but took incredibly long to set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beesandbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Unreal!! Everyone loved it. I think I put on about 5lbs, but well worth it. My roomate wants me to make these cheesecakes at his wedding now even after going to the pros'. He is very picky and rated this desert to be in his "top 5" of alltime. I used a thin layer of brownie mix and baked it until set (30-40min) for the bottom crust and crushed double stuff Oreo in the middle of the cheesecake. I would do everything the same except less semisweet chocolate chips because it makes the cheesecake a little too rich for my taste, but maybe that's the only thing keeping me from eating it all in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WileyP
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Excellent, Millie Ellis - Thanks for posting it! I read every review (gak!) before deciding to do it just as written, then adjusting it later if needed. Guess what. It isn't needed! The crust needed 20 Oreo cookies (NOT "Double-Stuff"!) and the 2 Tbsp of butter, while seeming a little shy, ended up just right. I used the full tsp of cinnamon was barely noticeable and went well with the rest of the cheesecake. I used a 9" spring-form, but only poured about 3/4 of the filling batter into it, leaving about an inch of space at the top. Even that was a tad too much, as it rose substantially during cooking. There was room for only about 1/3 of the sour cream layer, which is okay by me, because I'm not really fond of it. After the final baking, the whole cake sunk a little (as evidenced by the picture). I did take the ring off before adding the gnocchi, and, since it sunk a little, I did have room for all of it. Had it not sunk a little, the gnocchi would have dribbled down the side, and that would have been fine, too. A hint when making the gnocchi to keep it from getting too hard: Heat the cream until just steaming, remove it from the heat, then whisk in the chocolate chips and vanilla. I had hoped that the cookie chunks layer would have a little crunch left, but it didn't. With the lovely, crunchy crust, I think that I will leave the cookie chunks out next time. The filling's texture was just right and the flavor was wonderful. All in all, a great cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States