Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good flavor and smooth consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very easy recipe. Whipped to the right consistency, this frosting is perfect for cakes/cupcakes. I doubled the recipe and it was exactly enough frosting for 24 cupcakes. Delicious flavor as is. Add a touch of almond extract for a slightly more sophisticated taste. This one's going in my recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Turned out perfect for my chocolate pudding cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Way too sweet. I have yet to find a good buttercream recipe worth keeping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I loved this recipe and the only thing I did different was add two tablespoons of granulated sugar after it was all mixed up. It had just the right texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clever, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Fabulous! It's just like my Grandma's recipe, that I had lost! It's got a great smooth texture, and a nice mellow chocolate flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This frosting is fabulous! I couldn't decide which was more amazing, the frosting or my favorite sugar cookies which I spread it on. This will be a keeper and a go-to frosting for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I wasn't impressed with this frosting. It didn't have much of a chocolate flavor and then it didn't want to frost onto my cake. I will not be using this frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earnold

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a fantastic frosting recipe, especially since I just moved and am without an electronic mixer. I halved the recipe to make half vanilla and half chocolate. For the vanilla, I doubled the extract in it per other reviews. For the chocolate, I used Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder and the taste was incredible, perfectly chocolaty. I ended up putting the frosting in between two peanut butter chocolate chip cookies that came out a little on the crispy side to make a sandwich of sorts. They taste fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Eh, this was very lightly chocolate-flavored. That's OK, that's what I wanted for the peanut butter cupcakes I made from the recipe on this site. But I can see how folks would be disappointed if they're looking for something hershey-flavored or even darker. I was slightly disappointed in the amount of frosting, I made two dozen cupcakes and was piping the frosting on, and even though a few of the cupcakes had been eaten without frosting, this batch made barely enough to pipe the rest. So the '24' servings shown would have been *very* thinly frosted cupcakes or rather small cookies. Eh well, I thought it might be too little going in but I didn't have any more powdered sugar than called for or I would have doubled it. Anyway, I think next time I would double the recipe for the full batch of cupcakes, and maybe add a little more cocoa powder if I needed a heavier chocolate flavor. I might toss in a dash or two of salt as well, as I really like salt with chocolate. This was quite a sweet frosting as well. Not really picking faults, you understand, just describing the result so that others will know what they're getting into. The texture was good, it was nice for piping without adding any extra milk beyond what was called for. If you are looking for dark chocolate, seek elsewhere. This is very lightly chocolatey, very mild, good for a mild-tasting cookie or cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States