Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This icing was fantastic! I made vanilla cupcakes and didn't want chocolate frosting, so I omitted the cocoa and added pink food colouring. It was a huge hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Perfectly chocolatey and not too sweet! I'll definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Good recipe-I used it to frost the Black Forest Cake II here. I took the advice of others and substituted melted chocolate squares (dark chocolate) for the cocoa powder. This was a very yummy frosting for the cake and everyone raved about the whole dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.lisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Good frosting...the recipe made more than enough to frost two dozen cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
When I made this frosting (for a cake), this is the first time I made frosting from scratch. I found it to be pretty easy, but here are some observations I made concerning the instructions: 1. You absolutely have to sift the powdered sugar and cocoa powder. 2. I found it worked best when I first mixed the super-softened butter and about 1/4 to 1/2 of the powdered sugar, very thoroughly creaming them together with the spatula. 3. Heating the milk a bit (to about drinking temperature) helped. 4. After creating a thick cream of the butter, sugar, and milk, I worked the rest of the powdered sugar and cocoa in until it was smooth. One of my great aunts always made a family-favorite chocolate cake. Now I know why it tasted so good--she used home-made buttercream frosting. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I didn't like this. It really only tasted like powdered sugar. Not even a step up from the stuff you buy in a can. I won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is a really easy recipe. I used it to frost cupcakes. When I first tasted it, it was just okay -- but after chilling the cupcakes in the fridge for a few hours it was PERFECT! I made a chocolate batch and omitted the cocoa for a vanilla batch. WONDERFUL and easy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Pretty good. I only had half the powdered sugar and I thought that was the right amount. I don't like overly sugary frostings. Just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
As good as any chocolate buttercream frosting I've made before. Used this to top the Brown Eyed Susan cookies recipe from this site. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
As my 4 year old said, "This is fantastic!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States