Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Good recipe-I used it to frost the Black Forest Cake II here. I took the advice of others and substituted melted chocolate squares (dark chocolate) for the cocoa powder. This was a very yummy frosting for the cake and everyone raved about the whole dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.lisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Good frosting...the recipe made more than enough to frost two dozen cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
When I made this frosting (for a cake), this is the first time I made frosting from scratch. I found it to be pretty easy, but here are some observations I made concerning the instructions: 1. You absolutely have to sift the powdered sugar and cocoa powder. 2. I found it worked best when I first mixed the super-softened butter and about 1/4 to 1/2 of the powdered sugar, very thoroughly creaming them together with the spatula. 3. Heating the milk a bit (to about drinking temperature) helped. 4. After creating a thick cream of the butter, sugar, and milk, I worked the rest of the powdered sugar and cocoa in until it was smooth. One of my great aunts always made a family-favorite chocolate cake. Now I know why it tasted so good--she used home-made buttercream frosting. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I didn't like this. It really only tasted like powdered sugar. Not even a step up from the stuff you buy in a can. I won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is a really easy recipe. I used it to frost cupcakes. When I first tasted it, it was just okay -- but after chilling the cupcakes in the fridge for a few hours it was PERFECT! I made a chocolate batch and omitted the cocoa for a vanilla batch. WONDERFUL and easy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Pretty good. I only had half the powdered sugar and I thought that was the right amount. I don't like overly sugary frostings. Just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
As good as any chocolate buttercream frosting I've made before. Used this to top the Brown Eyed Susan cookies recipe from this site. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
As my 4 year old said, "This is fantastic!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I love this recipe, this is now the base for all my frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Taste was okay after I added three squares of Godiva dark chocolate based on other reviews, but the consistency was horrible. Didn't want to stick...think frosting with a warm tootsie roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States