Chocolate Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made this for Christmas breakfast last year, without the raisins and nuts, and it was a huge hit. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzieim1
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Just made this cake--ate hot right out of the oven and I must say it is yummy! I did as others have stated and substituted chocolate chips for the raisins in this recipe. I also used almonds for the nuts because I did not have either walnuts or pecans and feel that although I like the almonds, I think pecans or walnuts could have made this a tad better. I LOVE recipes with sour cream or buttermilk in the mix because they always seem to be so moist...this cake lived up to this belief! It is incredibly moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I was completely out of eggs and was excited to find something to make for breakfast besides oatmeal, smoothies, and pancakes. I substituted craisins for raisins. The flavor was average and the texture was different but overall was a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I made one change. Since cocoa is added to it, I couldn't see why the cocoa should just go in the batter. I placed it in during the first step, so it was incorporated into the streusel-topping. I was very happy at how this turned out. I had my piece warm for dessert. But the rest of the family was happy to polish it off cold from the frig the next morning! For best results, I suggest cutting the recipe in half and using a 8x8 square cast iron skillet. There's a similar recipe in my family that goes back generations, and one's great-great granny didn't have anything fancier. I believe it makes a great difference in a cake with this type of chemistry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This cake tasted really good, but it took forever to cook. We followed the directions totally, but for whatever reason after the full 40 minutes in the oven it was still extremely wobbly. Ended up taking closer to 2 hours to be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe this morning. Nobody liked the amount of spices in it. It was more like a spice cake than a coffee cake. It definately was not for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
my husband loves this cake.. i didnt have nuts so added cherries. my kitchen smelt lovely.. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
After all the great comments I was very disappointed in this recipe. Followed it exactly (and I am certainly not a novice baker), but it came out rather tasteless and raw - even tho I added extra time. I question whether there should be an egg and it was omitted in error. Sorry to give it a bad review. Maybe it is just our tastes, but we really are fans of coffee cakes and make many different kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is the best coffee cake I have ever made so far. I did have to substitute the butter milk by using 1 cup of sour cream and 1 cup of regular milk but it came out so moist and tasty. It smelled so heavenly too. I took it to a ladies Bible Study and when I walked into the fellowship hall everyone could smell this wonderful cake. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Santi
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made the recipe as it is published. The word all round was, excellent!! Well done. I've submitted a photo. Hope it looks the way that the owner of the recipe intended. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States