Chocolate Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
These are amazing as far as flavour goes, but when made as-is they lack visual appeal and are hard to cut up into squares to serve. I've made them many times and now I make the bottom a typical graham crumb and butter crust, then sprinkle the chocolate chips and coconut over, then pour the condensed milk on top of that. The end result is just as delicious, but looks much nicer and is easier to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I think this recipe is great! If your lactose intolerant try the dark chocolate chips that are semi sweet. Also I substituted cream of coconut (comes in a can at the grocery store) for the condensed milk. The bars turned out excellent!!! Thank god there are alternatives for people like me and my fiance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
These are super simple and really easy to make! I did take the suggestion of another reviewer and used parchment paper to line the pan before adding the dough. They lifted right out and made cutting a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My husband loved these, but said that would be eve tastier with vanilla ice cream on the side. I also love them, I can't believe that the calorie count is correct because 2 tablespoons of condensed milk already have 130 calories. S as long as you are willing to indulge, then they are a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
These were fantastic. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
They do taste good. They were a bit difficult to get out of the pan. The top got quite brown, and the rest was pretty gooey. I'd like a more homogeneous consistency, but the consistency didn't detract from the taste. As mentioned earlier, they are quite sweet. I may try this again and try several modifications now that I see the shortcomings. I will likely finish eating all of these. They are quite tasty, in spite of their problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe to a "T" and they were like eating burnt cardboard. After I fought to get them out of the pan. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Crossfield, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These were just ok. They seem like they are missing something. They just weren't sweet enough. Mine stayed gooey. I did exactly as the recipe stated and they browned on the outside, but not in the middle. Maybe adding more chocolate chips would help the flavor, but as written, I don't recommend it. The rest are going in the garbage. I hope this helps. They definitely aren't terrible, just aren't impressive at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Just made these for my coconut-loving father-in-law. Five stars for ease, taste and texture. I lined my 11x7 pan with parchment and snipped the corners for overlap. Had no problem removing the bars from the pan and parchment. I popped the whole thing in the fridge cool and cut into small squares. Unfortunately, I keep eating them! Also, I did use one 14 oz can of SCM and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I layered this recipe and mixed the bottom cracker layer with a small amount of melted butter to make a lose crust. I mixed the coconut and milk as directed and sprinkled the chips on top. The trick is to allow them to fully cool! If you touch them before the pan is cold you will end up with a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Hot Dish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States