Chocolate Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I didn't have self-rising flour, so I substituted with 1 cup of all-purpose flour and 1.5 teaspoons of baking powder. I didn't change anything else, and this dessert turned out very well. It is not too sweet or too decadent, but it satisfies a chocolate craving. I let it cool until it was just warm and the sauce was thickening, and then served it in bowls with scoops of vanilla ice cream. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This tasted delicious and was quick to prepare. My husband said "Oh boy, is this good!" The sauce thickens as it cools. If you don't have self-rising flour, use 1 cup flour with 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I've never heard of chocolate cobbler but I was in a last minute pinch for a dessert that was quick, easy and cheap. I skeptically threw this together with the following changes: made self rise flour with 1c. ap. flour, 1 1/2 tsp bkg pwdr, 1 tsp. salt. Used only 4 TBSP butter and about 1 1/4 C boiling water. Used heaping measurements for the Cocoa Powder. I also baked it in my 9x9 stoneware piece. This dessert completely exceeded my expectations. The cake-like part set up perfectly and the "sauce" was exactly like hot fudge - built right in there! I couldn't have been happier with the results and am thrilled to add this to my collection of sweet, simple - TOTALLY satisfying recipes. Anyone who's tried it with a result that didn't knock their socks off should try it again with some changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I came online looking for a version of the chocolate cobbler called "Chocolate Stuff" served at Barbara Jean's restaurant on St. Simon's Island. Another review listed here said this was a very good version and I have to agree! It was a huge hit with everyone I served it to, both kids and adults. I served it with vanilla ice cream this time, I might try just fresh whipped cream next time around. I'm sure I'll make it again soon. I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This is one of the best chocolate desserts I have ever made. I really didn't let it cool enough before I tasted it, but I just couldn't wait! This recipe deserves a lot more than 5 stars because the taste is wonderful and it is so, so easy. This cobbler is rich and the right amount of rich. The sauce is a perfect smooth chocolate and is complemented by the cakey topping, which by itself is a treat. Chocolate cobbler is perfect for a chocolate fix. Thanks for a wonderful recipe I will make again and again! (Since I didn't have self-rising flour, I used 1 cup flour and added 1 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holdrege, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I am known to change every recipe. This one I made it exactly how it was written. I thought it was FANTASTIC! Some people commented that is was too sweet....what??!! It's chocolate cobbler people. What do you expect? I thought it was perfect and I am not a huge chcolate fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENROBBINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
The measurements on this recipe are definitely off. Make sure you read the reviews before proceeding. I made as directed and while my kids enjoyed the flavor, the end result was a little on the greasy side and very runny. Next time I will cut the butter down to 4 Tbsp and increase the flour, sugar, cocoa powder,milk mixture (maybe even double it?). I think if you tweaked the measurements you could end up with something similar to a molten chocolate cake. It has potential but as written it's not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I just finished enjoying this warm, chocolatety, gooey, mouth-watering goodness and am in heaven. Thank goodness I'm not a celebrity because I wouldn't want any shots of me licking the bowl clean in the next gossip magazine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALLMETOPAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this tonight for dessert. It looked like a big mess when I put it in the oven. It came out perfect. I used all purpuse flour, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. That was the only modification to the recipe. It turned out wonderful. I topped it off with sliced strawberries instead of Ice Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This cobbler was really good, a big hit at our house! After reading the reviews about it being too sweet, I reduced the sugar amounts to 2/3 cup each (50/50 sugar and Splenda). The result was a lovely chocolatey pudding cake; I would have needed the extra sugar to get the "crunchy" cobbler effect. Regardless, we tucked into it and finished it off in two nights. For next time, I think I'll increase the topping sugar (to 3/4 cup) and add some instant coffee granules to the cake mixture to enhance the chocolate flavor. My partner said he thought it would be nice with dried currants or dried cherries, so I'll work that variation in, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States