Chocolate Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Leslie du Mont
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Holy cow, this was a good recipe! I felt really guilty about the amt of butter and sugar used in this, but THEN I TASTED IT! ;-) I used boiling hazelnut and french roast coffee instead of boiling water. I also doubled it and used at 9x13 in dish. This is a keeper, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Yum! I followed the recipe and although it does look quite weird while you're making it, it turns out delicious! The water becomes a chocolate sauce on the bottom. I would compare this to hot fudge cake complete with delicious vanilla ice cream! Hubby and I both loved it. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is very much like a chocolate lava cake and we enjoyed it very much. However, if you make it as directed be prepared for a VERY sweet dessert. After reading the reviews I cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup, used part Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa Powder and substituted brewed coffee for the water. The end result was still a bit too sweet. I'll probably cut the sugar back another 1/4 cup the next time and there will be a next time. Dylansmom is right - it's great with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by J. Dub
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
So, so good! Very similar to a molten lava cake. Would be great for company. I only gave it 4 stars because I think some of the butter and sugar could be cut out. Regardless, I made it exactly as the instructions said and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
YUM! It looks weird before you bake it, but it comes out perfect... light spongy cake with hot chocolate sauce underneath. I add a teaspoon of instant coffee granules to the hot water when I pour it on top... like many people, we ate it with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very simple yet very yummy! I've made this 3 days in a row at our restaurant in a 9 x 12 pan & sold out! I topped it with vanilla bean ice cream & my own home made chocolate drizzle! It's a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Foxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is so good. I followed the recipe as written and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollygagger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Good and easy to make! I wasn't sure how this would turn out but glad I gave it a try. The only thing I will do differently next time is to cut down on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
So simple, but delicious!! Only change, but it was a biggie for us, I subbed boiling leftover coffee for the water. My sauce was fairly liquid, but that was okay as we spooned more over the scoop of vanilla ice cream we put on top. Next time I am going to try doubling this, as it was barely enough for four of us. I baked mine in a round 3 qt. casserole which seemed to be just right. We will have this a lot!! Thank you dylansmom!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had big doubts about this recipe... "Pour boiling water over the top"... what? But OK, I followed the directions exactly. The initial "batter" is VERY thick and I had to spread it around the baking dish. The magic is in the boiling water. When you pull the cobbler from the oven and scoop out a serving of chocolate cake, you discover the lake of smooth chocolate sauce beneath the cake. Truely magic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States