Chocolate Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had big doubts about this recipe... "Pour boiling water over the top"... what? But OK, I followed the directions exactly. The initial "batter" is VERY thick and I had to spread it around the baking dish. The magic is in the boiling water. When you pull the cobbler from the oven and scoop out a serving of chocolate cake, you discover the lake of smooth chocolate sauce beneath the cake. Truely magic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good quick and easy dessert. Reminds me of the hot fudge cake at Old Country Buffet. Goes great with vanilla ice cream. Reheats well too, thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly except for using ap flour plus 1 t baking powder and 1/2 t salt and dark cocoa powder instead of regular. I used a 1 qt Pyrex casserole dish and the mixture filled it to the top and spilled into the oven. My fault. After letting it sit one hour out of the oven I tried it. It is way sweet and the bottom is still very liquidy. I'd have to make some changes to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Lava pie is what they should call this. It is very similar to those lava cakes you get at nicer restaurants. I baked this in a 9" pie plate and baked it for 40 minutes. It looks like an absolute watery mess, but it is delicious. It looked too watery still at the 30 minute mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChaoticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I found this to be delicious and forgiving! I used half wheat flour and for the topping had run out of white sugar, so substituted powdered. I let it sit for a while (during dinner) before we ate it. Texture, flavor, everything was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Roll your eyes back good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACARVER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Every bit as good as promised. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Love this! It's quick, simple & tasty. One note... if you decide to double it, a 13x9 is a bit small. Ask me how I know. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Awesome made it for my wife on her birthday and she loved it as well as everyone else. Used condensed mike rather than mike. Followed the recipe other than that. Maybe a little rum in the water????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Wow - this was a huge hit at my church potluck last night. So many compliments and requests for the recipe. Definitely going to be one of my go-to recipes from now on. The only change i made was to use less water (about 1/3 less) and once it was baked I sprinkled it with icing sugar for decoration, which also left a slightly crispy crust on top. Delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States