Chocolate Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by J. Dub
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
So, so good! Very similar to a molten lava cake. Would be great for company. I only gave it 4 stars because I think some of the butter and sugar could be cut out. Regardless, I made it exactly as the instructions said and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
YUM! It looks weird before you bake it, but it comes out perfect... light spongy cake with hot chocolate sauce underneath. I add a teaspoon of instant coffee granules to the hot water when I pour it on top... like many people, we ate it with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very simple yet very yummy! I've made this 3 days in a row at our restaurant in a 9 x 12 pan & sold out! I topped it with vanilla bean ice cream & my own home made chocolate drizzle! It's a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Lawter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is so good. I followed the recipe as written and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollygagger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Good and easy to make! I wasn't sure how this would turn out but glad I gave it a try. The only thing I will do differently next time is to cut down on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
So simple, but delicious!! Only change, but it was a biggie for us, I subbed boiling leftover coffee for the water. My sauce was fairly liquid, but that was okay as we spooned more over the scoop of vanilla ice cream we put on top. Next time I am going to try doubling this, as it was barely enough for four of us. I baked mine in a round 3 qt. casserole which seemed to be just right. We will have this a lot!! Thank you dylansmom!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had big doubts about this recipe... "Pour boiling water over the top"... what? But OK, I followed the directions exactly. The initial "batter" is VERY thick and I had to spread it around the baking dish. The magic is in the boiling water. When you pull the cobbler from the oven and scoop out a serving of chocolate cake, you discover the lake of smooth chocolate sauce beneath the cake. Truely magic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good quick and easy dessert. Reminds me of the hot fudge cake at Old Country Buffet. Goes great with vanilla ice cream. Reheats well too, thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly except for using ap flour plus 1 t baking powder and 1/2 t salt and dark cocoa powder instead of regular. I used a 1 qt Pyrex casserole dish and the mixture filled it to the top and spilled into the oven. My fault. After letting it sit one hour out of the oven I tried it. It is way sweet and the bottom is still very liquidy. I'd have to make some changes to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Lava pie is what they should call this. It is very similar to those lava cakes you get at nicer restaurants. I baked this in a 9" pie plate and baked it for 40 minutes. It looks like an absolute watery mess, but it is delicious. It looked too watery still at the 30 minute mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChaoticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States