Chocolate Chunk Mandel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Don't Panic! I was ready to give this recipe a poor rating because the dough was so wet and loose, I thought "this just won't work". It did. My husband raved "they are better than the bakery." I wish it didn't have so much oil in it but that must be why it has such a light crumb. Be prepared to chill the dough and use only a small amount on each "loaf" because it will spread out on the pan. I followed the recommendation to use waxed paper but during the second bake, i used parchment. A finished mandel bread cookie is only about an inch high but when they spread out, it might be six inches long which is longer than i'd like, hence my advice to make small loaves. They freeze well after baking too. And it's the perfect accompaniment to your morning coffee. Variations you might try: pistachios, dried cranberries, dip them in chocolate like biscotti, toffee chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
i liked this! I changed the vanilla extract to almond, and had to chill the batter for over an hour before it was able to roll. Plus, I sprinkled sugar on them before the final bake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I have made this many times now and everytime it turns out fantastically and my cousins really like it. If I were to change the recipe, I would put lemon juice in (in addition or instead of the orange juice) and I would put more chocolate chips into it. It cuts very well in between the two bakes and it is really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
As a new Shiksa wife I am new to Jewish baked goods. That in mind, my husband requested Mandel bread, his favorite childhood cookie. I found this recipe and gave it a shot. His preference is NO chocolate but rather the lemon juice, lemon zest, walnuts and candied fruit. I lined the cookie sheet with parchment paper and then just lifted the parchment paper with the rolls still on it to the rack to cool. very easy. I also read on another website that the rolls will spread and not to worry. The finished cookie should only be 1 1/2 inches tall. No extra flour was needed. PS. - oil your hands when you handle the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My mother received a very similar recipe from a Jewish coworker. She makes it every year at Christmas and it is always a hit! I made a few alterations to this recipe to make it as close to my mother's as possible. I substituted the chocolate chips for chopped walnuts (although I did once use almonds instead of walnuts and it was equally as tasty) and sprinkled the top of the loaves with cinnamon and sugar mixture (the kind you buy at the store if you are in a hurry works well or you can mix 1/4 cup white sugar with 1-1 1/2 tablespoons of cinnamon) before putting them in the oven the first time. I also used wax paper in lieu of the greased cookie sheet. Clean-up was a snap! My mother also suggested if you have a hard time getting it to hold, put the dough in the fridge for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I used lemon juice, lemon zest and almonds. In place of 1 cup sugar, I used 1 cup of a natural sugar substitute. I used the the sweetner's conversion chart from sugar to sweetner. The Mandel bread was great and not one person who had some of it noticed the sugar switch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somers, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I had to over an extra cup of flour just to make it hold together. It ended up coming out ok, but not extremely flavourful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I decided to drop the chocolate chips and substitue lemon juice for the orange juice. i also grated a lemon rind. I used wax paper under the loaves, like previously recomended, and it pealed off easily. a very simple recipe, with very good results. I will make this one again! Thanks! by the way, Mandel=almond. I think it's funny that this recipe has no nuts in it whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I found this recipe very easy to follow and the mandel bread came out very well. One comment, I would definately reccomend using waxed paper under the bread , rather than greasing the pan, for convenience sake. I tweaked the recipe by changing 1 cup chocolate chips to 3/4 cup choc chips & 3/4 cup chopped pecans. It came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States