Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Really good, very moist. I subbed plain yogurt for sour cream and used a Bundt pan at the same temp for 85m.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by icecreammama
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This cake turned out fantastic. The moistness was about level 4 on a 5 level mark. I used a cup of my wheat/barley whole wheat flour that I grind and 1 3/4c. all purpose. Everything else was the same. It had the most beautiful texture of any cake I have ever made!! This one I will make again for sure. I served it plain but it would have been even better with a chocolate glaze or whipped cream/ice cream. Make sure to follow measurements close and DON'T open the oven for at least the first 60min or until you are sure it is very near done otherwise it will sink. I baked it about 7 min over an hour. LOVELY cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
5 stars for instructions and 5 for the cake - congratulations. If you plan on making a cake like this, be prepared to spend the time and also no substitutes when it comes to ingredients. Having everything at room temperature is imperative. Pound type cakes requires a lot of beating and the results are wonderful - moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
for me this was a complete waste of ingredients. thick, dense ( not in a good pound cake way ) and tasteless. Needs way more cocoa powder and I think too much butter per egg ratio?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
LOVED IT !!!! This is the second time i made this cake. I would recomend reading and understanding the drections in advance. Take your time, and follow step-by-step. I did add more chocolate chips, 1 cup of chopped wallnuts. I mixed 1 of a cup powdered sugar, 1 Tbsp. milk, and 1 tsp. vanilla, and poured it in a design over the cake after the cake was at room tempature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melinda111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This cake is so good! It is moist and light. I made it in a Bundt pan. Short on time, I baked it for 1 hour on 350. I doubled the salt based on another review and didn't include cream of tarter (didn't have any), and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is an excellent recipe the instruction are easy to understand.The ingredients are things that you would have on hand and the cake has the perfect texture for a pound cake. I would give it more stars if I could. The taste is right on.I baked it in my convection oven and baked it about 10 minutes longer. I tested it before taking it out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Mmm, yum yum! I agree that the recipe directions were clear and easy to follow. I had been looking for a yummy chocolate chip cake to satisfy my craving for choco chips without resorting to cookies. Most cakes I found used ingredients like packaged jell-o pudding. I always prefer to take things from more basic ingredients- so I know exactly what is going in my food, and so I feel like I am actually baking! So this recipe was great! We have a large oven, and a smaller oven for side dishes and rolls and such. I used my smaller oven, so the result was shorter cooking time and a crust that was not too hard, but a little crispy. The inside is still moist and creamy, melt-in-your-mouth good. It is just great! Thanks for this recipe, I will be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I decided to do a test run of this cake tonight before I serve it at Thanksgiving dinner. It is absolutely FANTASTIC! Altho time consuming, it for sure beats out any pound cake I've ever had...and that makes up for it! I will be making another one tomorrow night because I cut into the one i made tonight. I did however double the cocoa. Immediately it has a very light cocoa flavor, at the end, a buttery flavor. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very nice cake. I doubled the salt, and cocoa and my family all agreed that it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States