Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I loved it! However, I did add 1/4 cup more milk and 1 tbsp more oil (I think it should resemble a cake batter when all is mixed together). Also did 3/4 cup of cocoa because I like it chocolately! And, lastly, I used 1/2 tsp salt and will use a bit more next time around. It is pretty hard to toothpick-test something with chocolate chips because the toothpick can come out wet even if the batter is done, so I just recommend that you cook for 25 minutes and it should come out as perfect as mine did! Great recipe -- thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I made them without the nuts and almonds. they came out moist and delicious! I baked them for 20 minutes and they came out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, baked them for exactly 20 minutes, took them to a function, and they disappeared in 15 minutes. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I just made these this morning and they are wonderful! I did make a few adjustments however. I substituted whole wheat flour for AP, omitted the nuts, used mini chocolate chips. I also substituted 2 tbsp of pumpkin puree for the oil, this not only cuts the fat almost completely out but helps the batter to have more body. It made 17 good sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vee Vien
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
The muffins were great! Very easy to make and lovely to eat, considering this is only my third attempt at baking! Everyone loved them! I also took the advice of SukeyNY and used the following: 1.5 cups of milk, 3 tbsp of oil, 3/4 cup of cocoa and 1/2 tsp salt. Also, we made a mistake when purchasing the ingredients and got chopped almonds instead of whole ones, so we used a 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts + 1/3 cup of chopped almonds in addition to the chocolate chips. The muffins tasted wonderful anyway, and richer besides. We also forgot to sprinkle the sugar before baking, but reading the other reviews, I guess that's just as well. With all the extras, this recipe can yield at LEAST 16 muffins. We made 12 anyway by filling the muffin cups to the top so they were HUGE and lopsided but very moist. I hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Good overall flavor. First, this made 20 regular sized muffins. Also, many reviewers stated that their chocolate chips sank to bottom of muffin; to resolve this issue dust chocolat chips with 1T flour. For those who think this is a dry muffin, check your cocoa. If it's dark or dutch cocoa you should add extra dairy fat (think sour cream) since chocolate, especially dark and dutch, will absorb the fat content in a recipe and dry it out (also the milk should not be skim or low fat). Also, if you omit the nuts this too will dry out the recipe as nuts add / help maintain moisture. That being said, I used 1 1/2 cup AP flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat, and 1 T oil plus 1T applesauce. Since I use a cocoa which is half semi-sweet / half dutch I added 2 t sour cream (double that if your cocoa is not a combo). My milk was 2%, but whole milk would've been a better option. Also, do not overcook. I baked 20 minutes and removed IMMEDIATELY from pan to help end residual baking. My muffins were chocolately and moist. The family really enjoyed. Better than store bought. P.S. For high altitude I reduced the baking powder by 1/2 t; this helps with over rising which leads to a deflated end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Whoa. Careful with these, don't eat 'em for breakfast, or you'll experience something akin to Death By Chocolate. These are for 'after' a meal, or an afternoon snack. I put a green M&M on top of each because as everyone knows, they are a very strong aphrodisiac. I give these muffins five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FAMILYJEANS
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is our favorite chocolate chocolate chip muffin recipe! I omit the nuts (kiddo doesn't like them), and increased the eggs to two instead of one. I usually double the recipe and freeze them. They are FABULOUS warmed up in the microwave! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I followed the exact ingredients, except for spilling some extra vanilla extract in by accident....it turned out really delicious. very fluffy and the chocolate chips in the center were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
These are great! We don't like nuts and I was out of chocolate chips and they still tasted wonderful. Can't wait to try them with the chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States