Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the flavor of these muffins was very poor ~ bland and unpleasant at the same time! I am not sure if it was something I did inadvertently or if this muffin just wasn't my cup of tea... my kids didn't like them either. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbm3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Delicious, but not as chocolatey as I expected. I baked them for 20 minutes (without nuts) and used milk chocolate morsels instead of semi-sweet. Very good and so very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
These were awesome! I used half whole wheat flour, only 1 cup of sugar and Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa. My 3 year old is on his third one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Good overall flavor. First, this made 20 regular sized muffins. Also, many reviewers stated that their chocolate chips sank to bottom of muffin; to resolve this issue dust chocolat chips with 1T flour. For those who think this is a dry muffin, check your cocoa. If it's dark or dutch cocoa you should add extra dairy fat (think sour cream) since chocolate, especially dark and dutch, will absorb the fat content in a recipe and dry it out (also the milk should not be skim or low fat). Also, if you omit the nuts this too will dry out the recipe as nuts add / help maintain moisture. That being said, I used 1 1/2 cup AP flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat, and 1 T oil plus 1T applesauce. Since I use a cocoa which is half semi-sweet / half dutch I added 2 t sour cream (double that if your cocoa is not a combo). My milk was 2%, but whole milk would've been a better option. Also, do not overcook. I baked 20 minutes and removed IMMEDIATELY from pan to help end residual baking. My muffins were chocolately and moist. The family really enjoyed. Better than store bought. P.S. For high altitude I reduced the baking powder by 1/2 t; this helps with over rising which leads to a deflated end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good! Almost like chocolate heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Moist. Made them into 6 jumbo muffins and baked longer. Husband loved them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Really good chocolate muffins but I find they cook way better if you don't sprinkle any sugar on the tops and I cooked them from 25 minutes to 30. Other than that, great chocolate muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey17x

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
this was AMAZING! :D i didnt put in the nuts in and added extra chocolate chips and i out it into mini 5x3 loaf fans and topped the chocolate chips on the top. they came out beautifuly and were soo tasty. i will be making this again! THANK YOU! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I've tried these, and the result was just wonderful!!!! They are moisty and delicious! I covered them with glassé...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These are so good! I used slivered almonds since that's what I had and I made regular and mini muffins. So GOOD!! Also, I made half the recipe, scrambled the egg and (tried) to use half, but 95% of the egg went in and it was still ok. I added the topping on some and some without. They were both delicious!! and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States