Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made these exactly as written. Firstly, the taste was wonderful. Moist and chocolately. Cons: they domed and then collasped leaving a nasty top crust and chips did sink to bottom. I used regular muffin tins and came out with 18, so either a) they were meant to be baked in larger muffin sized tins or b) there's too much baking powder in batter. They simply couldn't hold the weight of the batter. I'll definately try again - first using the larger muffin tins and if that doesn't work, will try reducing the bp or increasing the fat content as others have done. UPDATE: So so sorry - just too hard to try to adapt recipe to prevent the top from caving in...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Scaled for 18; made as directed, except omitted nuts due to preference. Love them!!! Made 26 regular-sized muffins, some slightly bigger, some smaller. Just wish they weren't so calorific! :) Might try subbing stuff out next time. Thanks bunches for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Oh my goodness! So good! I get requests for these often. Only change I make is to omit the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious, super-chocolatey muffins! I do recommend increasing the milk to 1 1/2 cups, this gave me muffins that were more moist. As always, don't mix that muffin batter too much! 20 minutes in my oven and they were perfectly done. My brother ate 3 in one sitting! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I liked this recipe. I used applesauce instead of the oil but I think this was a great recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I will hesitate before using this recipe again. The muffins did not turn out as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made a few of the adjustments that other suggested. I'm not sure how to describe how these came out... Maybe tough? Chewy? The texture of them was odd, and I thought they were a little too sweet and a little too chocolatey for a muffin. Next time I make them, I will not do the adjustments and see how they turn out. My muffins also collapsed in the middle, I'm thinking I may have overmixed them. To avoid that next time, I will mix the wet into the dry instead of the dry into the wet. I find it easier to do without overmixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very good although you would think they would be much sweeter since they have so much sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emluvstobake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe almost exactly (I did substitute baking splenda for the sugar to reduce calories). I made jumbo muffins and the batter was exactly enough to make six of them. They did come out a little dry but I put the timer on for 25 minutes because I thought jumbo would take longer and they were probably done in 20 minutes, also maybe the splenda changed something. They were not chocolately enough for me (but we're talking about someone who gets hot fudge sundaes with death by chocolate ice cream, and crushed Oreos. So no surprise there). I also didn't find them to be super dense like other reviewers said, I was looking forward to dense... But overall my way was a 3 and if I weren't a recovering chocoholic it would be a 4, so that was my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These muffins are so moist and yummy! I made them vegan by substituting almond milk, carob chips, and egg substitute, I also reduced the sugar to just less than one cup...you can't even tell!!! This is my new favorite muffin/cupcake recipe. THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States