Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Great recipe exactly as written. I made some changes to try to up nutrition and reduce fat and sugar: Substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup oats for the 2 cups white flour. The oats gave it that "oaty" texture, which my family doesn't mind. Decreased sugar to a scant 1 cup. Used 2 T applesauce instead of oil. For variety, used 3/4 cup mini choco chips and 1/4 cup white chips. Delish! Still a sweet treat to be eaten only on occasion, but a little better for us. (Or at least that's what I'm saying as I shove the third mini muffin down the hatch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Fabulous! I made these with few adjustments. I used organic sugar rather than white, 1 tbsp more oil, and self-rising flour rather than AP (also losing the baking powder and salt), as this is what I had on hand. Very nice, moist and luscious muffins bursting with chocolate. Made them tonight for breakfast tomorrow and my boys are going to be ecstatic if Daddy leaves them any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Mine turned out very moist and delicious. I left out the nuts because I did not have it. Used 3 tablespoons of vegetable oil, and 1/2 tsp. salt. Mixed all the dry ingredients in a bowl and whisk the wet ingredients in another bowl. I then added the wet ingredients into the dry and mixed just until combined. Sprinkled more choc chips in the batter before baking. Very good. Yummy.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu, Philippines
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My daughter made these the other day. I would probably give them 3.5 stars. I didn't think the chocolate flavor was as complex as some other chocolate muffins I've had- maybe the lack of espresso or coffee effected that. My daughter loved them and they sure didn't last long. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as specified and the muffins came out wonderful. That is a true 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I left out the nuts and chips, added a little extra cocoa, and pressed 1 tp. cream cheese into the center of the batter before baking the muffins. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
great muffins everyone in my whole family liked them. i changed mine little bit.i used 2 cups of milk and they turned out great and i did not use almonds any way this was a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeetigillcoolness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I do love chocolate muffins and these were the best I've found so far. Iced a few of them and called it my birthday cake. :) Didn't quite reach the Sam's Club/Costco ones though, which is what I always have in mind in regards to CC muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I love the way this recipe lets you delude yourself into prending your not eating chocolate cake for breakfast. =) These were very good and east to make. It did yeild 16 very full to the top "muffins". Needless to say the kids went nuts for these too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I only had walnuts so I used a full cup of them and I added a good handful of white chocolate chips. Super delicious! Also, I only had bread flour handy and it still worked great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States