Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I added less sugar (3/4 cup) and didn't add chocolate chips, and they still turned out really delicious! The one problem I had was that they taste more like brownies than muffins, they're more dry than regular muffins. Delicious recipe! Love the texture (before and after baking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seona Chalana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Very dry. Need to try them again with the reviews suggested added egg and sour cream, etc. The chocolate flavor was great though. Don't put mini chocolate chips on top while baking though. They burn. Whoops. Also, 20 minutes on 400 was too long. I baked mine 17 minutes and still thought that was too long. The edges were starting to get burnt. I will try these again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Based on others' advice, I used 3/4 c sugar and 2 eggs, added half a cup of nonfat Greek yogurt, and substituted regular milk for buttermilk. These were absolutely delicious. I'm seriously considering making a cake using this recipe. One thing to note is that this makes a bit more than a dozen muffins if you have a standard-sized muffin tin. I forced it in to 12 muffin cups, and they flowed in to each other on me. I didn't have to bake these nearly as long as specified. I took them out as soon as a toothpick came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Same as many reviews said they caved in in the middle. My daughter said the mmiddles tasted good but the edges were completely burnt long before the middle was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
A little dry, but they're okay with a glass of milk. I'll look for another recipe or an adjustment to make them more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annabelle'sMommy
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I give it 4 stars due to the need for a few alterations. This is a wonderful MUFFIN. If you're expecting a super sweet treat, you'll need to go find a cupcake recipe. Not that this isn't sweet, it just isn't that sweet. I did the same alterations as everyone else (1/2c sour cream and extra egg) and these came out super moist and fluffy. If you want to make a loaf with this, I'd recommend baking it at 350. Mines in the oven at 400 and it looks like the edges are going to burn before the middle even cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabelle'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I didn't read the reviews, and wished I had. I used the recipe above exactly and although I thought they were very yummy, to me they just weren't as chocolaty (if that is a word)as I hoped. They didn't look as dark as the above picture either. I think I will try adding some of the ingredients stated in some of the reviews and play around with it a little. All in all, a hit with the kids but to the chocoholic in the family I needed more chocolate ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Really like this recipe. So much that I created an allrecipes account to review. I added 1/2c sour cream, 2nd egg, 2/3c sugar, kept the buttermilk, and I filled the muffin tins really full (made a dozen). They came out really fluffy and huge in about 21-22 minutes. I took them out of the pans right away. So awesome! Hope to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I use this recipe for "chocolate cake" but not chocolate muffin. This recipe always turns out great. I was a little surprised because the batter is not running at all. The only fat in this recipe is butter, so this is NOT a moist muffin recipe indeed. Also, if you are looking for a fudge like muffin recipe, this is not what you're looking for. (Or adding sour cream might help)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Made the changes that everyone recommended and found these muffins to be drab. Took a couple bites and didn't go back for more. I love rich chocolatey treats, but this did not do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States