Chocolate Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Excellent cake, very dense and rich. I frosted with sour cream chocolate frosting. Worth the extra time it takes to put together. I used butter (margarine, at least the kind with trans fats) should not even be sold in stores anymore, let alone used by bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Had to rate in the middle on this one. As a cake I did not care for it at all. Baking time is way off and after almost two hours I pulled it from the oven. The middle was still a bit gooey and the outside was hard enough it made cutting difficult. As many said it is brownie like so next baking I made it as brownies and one word...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is not one of our favorites for chocolate cake. But we did change it for a vanilla cake that came out good. All we did was omit the chocolate and coffee and add a Tablespoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
It was probably me, but this one turned into a giant brownie :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
The PERFECT Chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe closely but changed the baking temperature to 325 degrees in hopes that it would bake more evenly. I even used a baking core and cake pan strips. Unfortunately after 90min the top was crunchy like a brownie and the inside was apparently still VERY undone. 10 min after taking it out it had completely caved in on itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I am in two minds about how to rate this cake. I had read other's reviews which said that the cake took ages to cook, and I intended to fill the cake anyway, so I decided to bake it in two shallow 9" pans instead of a 3" deep. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee. This is NOT a good chocolate cake. The top didn't just crack, it created a crisp almost crusty top, while the inside was still bordering on gooey. While trying to cut off the top, my husband commented that it looked more like brownies. It then struck me that this is an AWESOME brownie recipe. The dense, gooey texture of the "cake", the rich chocolate flavour and the crisp top is a 5 star brownie. I only wished I'd baked it in square tins, as I ended up cutting it into squares. 5 stars as brownies, 3 stars as cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Flavor is great but the cooking time is inaccurate...no way this was tested! After to hours it was still uncoiled in the middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yorkielova
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
THIS CAKE TOOK SOO LONG TO MAKE. I put it in the oven for one hour and when i took it out it was still the texture of batter except the sides were starting to cook. THen i put it in for another hour and by the end of that it was okay but the inside was still a little to uncooked. I followed the recipe exactly so I don't know why this happened. I suggest putting more flour in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States