Chocolate Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Not worth making, in my opinion. Without the white chocolate on top, I would not have liked it much. Not sweet enough for me. I made the coconut walnut biscotti at the same time and liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Good flavour but really crumbly. The loaves came out beautifully but I didn't get a single whole one out of the batch. Still very tasty and will get eaten happily but I'll probably use a different recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These turned out pretty well - I forgot to put the chocolate chunks in the biscotti, so I melted milk and white chocolate and used it as a drizzle. Like some other reviewers, I used 3 eggs instead of the substitute. I also subbed butter for the margarine, but I did use light olive oil. The flavor was great. I think these would be even better with some macadamia or other nuts, and I might try almond extract next time. All in all a great chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Too chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very good biscotti but gave it 4 stars because after reading the reviews I used canola oil, and 3 whole eggs instead of the egg substitute. They taste rather nice but I'll have more feedback when I take them to a picnic tomorrow. I also didn't bake them until they were dried out. I like mine with just a little softness to them.... not as messy that way! Next time (and there will be a next time), I'm going to try adding almond extract as mentioned in one review. Maybe some nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Well...followed the recipe exactly and these turned out great, but the olive oil really comes through in the taste. Next time will use Canola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkhashab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had to adjust this recipe for personal preference and items on hand - canola oil, 3 whole eggs and 1 tsp almond extract. Followed directions as written. By far, the best biscotti I have ever made, IMHO! Looking forward to sharing with my biscotti-loving family at the river over July 4th. Thank you, EHOLT for a winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very good! I had never made biscotti before and was concerned it would be difficult. It was a bit time consuming, but the result was worth it! Not too crunchy or sweet, but full of chocolate. I changed the recipe up a little by using three eggs instead of the substitute, canola oil instead of olive, and 3/4 cup of dark chocolate chips instead of the chopped chocolate bar. Very tasty, will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ampassante

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Excellent. Had to make some changes and it worked beautifully. Used vegetable oil instead of olive oil because my olive oil is too fragrant. Also subbed splenda for the sugar because my hubby is a diabetic. Used semi sweet chips cuz I had no milk chocolate and added 1 cup of roughly chopped almonds. Terrific results. This will be my new chocolate biscotti recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! I had 3 regular size (1.5 oz) Hershey bars in gthe freezer that I chopped up and added to the recipe. Awesome, awesome, awesome! My batch is being divided up to go into Christmas baskets for our neighbors. I'm sad to see them go away, but that might be the best thing considering I could easily eat the entire batch all by myself within a week. Yes, they're THAT good. ***UPDATED A YEAR LATER*** Wanted to pop back in and let everyone know we're making them again this year (Christmas 2009). Everyone asked for them. Simple. Easy. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States