Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
this bread is more like a cake..it is very moist i think the amount of oil should be reduced to 1/2 cup it almost is a little greasy so much so it most definitly has a tendancy to stick to the pan bottom even using a quality no stick pan otherwise enjoy my family did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Enjoyed this very much, substituted 1/2 cup of Oil and 1/2 cup of Applesauce to cut down on the oil and greasy consistency as mentioned in the other review...Made one loaf for home and one for my girlfriend to take to work...everyone's loved it. One thing I've noticed is the Chocolate chips and nuts take on the flavor of the Zucchini more so than the actual bread does. It's almost like eating Coco Puffs...but it's pretty epic...I'll be making this again when fresh pumpkin is out of season :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I cut the flour back to 2 1/2 cups and added an additional 1/2 cup of cocoa powder to make up the difference. I also increased the baking powder to a full teaspoon and used pecans instead of walnuts. I made muffins out of this recipe, I was able to get 18 muffins. I did bake them at 350 for just about 22 minutes. This recipe turned out moist and delicious--I'm really glad I thought to increase the cocoa powder. My kids both thought it needs more chocolate chips. I think I could get away with cutting back the sugar by half next time and increasing the chocolate chips, maybe use mini-chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Wonderful recipe! My kids and hubby loved it. I substituted apple sauce for the one cup of vegetable oil and it was very moist and just the right sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gawildflower
Home Town: Clayton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Enjoyed it with a crumb topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
We loved this - it's rare that I don't tinker with a recipe, but this is perfect! Gave two loaves away and the recipients raved too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Boynton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is SO chewy, like a brownie. My daughter's college team loved this recipe! The recipe yields 2 loaves and is now a 'must bring' when I visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFERRON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I replaced 1/2 cup of the oil for 1/2 applesauce to cut down on the fat. Very moist and nice zucchini bread.....but I think it is more like a cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I made it VEGAN by replacing eggs with 3/4c applesauce and 11/2t baking powder. Also I made the batter into muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
It was the driest and most disappointing zucchini bread ever, and I've made at least 20 dozen. I wanted to try a chocolate version. Also, there wasn't enough cocoa powder at all. Keep searching or add more oil, less flour. I made 4 of them. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States