Chocolate Chip Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
We all loved these cookie bars. Made them without the nuts, as we're not fans, but otherwise as directed. I printed this recipe many years ago, so the version I used was slightly different (says it was submitted by Hershey's Kitchens instead of Eagle Brand), but it's the same recipe. I wasn't able to find Skor baking bits, as my copy of the recipe calls for (do they make those anymore?), but I used a combination of Heath bits (with chocolate) and the almond brickle toffee chips and they turned out fine. Better the next day, after the flavors have had a chance to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
A bunch of great ingredients that were so so at best in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
My 3 guys loved these bars. Not nut lovers in our baked good we didn't add them. Next time I'll eliminate the 1/4 toffee bits from the top at the end. They were crunchy and stuck in your teeth. I didn't like the soft texture of the bar with the tiny bit of crunchy top here and there it felt like something was on it that shouldn't be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a really yummy easy recipe. I do however think that the directions are written in a very confusing manner and you MUST read them a few times before making them. The way it describes the layering can get weird if you dont pay attention. My opinion anyway! I only buy chocolate chips in 12 ounce bags so I used only that rather than 2 cups. I omited the nuts and used a bag of crushed heath bar. These were great bars, not overy sweet thanks to the bottom crust. Make sure that you do not cook par cook the crust longer than the 15 minutes. Cool COMPLETELY before cutting, therwise you will have a gooey mess with the warm condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These are really good. I didn't read the directions properly, and sprinkled all of the toffee bits on prior to baking, but it still came out great. If you cut into 24 bars, they're a very generous size. You could definitely stretch this to more like 30-36 servings. I liked them best straight from the fridge, they were very chewy when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Wow these we're amazing!!! The only thing I did differently is I used butterscotch chips instead of chocolate since my husband doesn't like chocolate chips. I also couldn't find toffee bits so I bought a few Heath bars and chopped them up real fine. Lastly, I used finely chopped peanuts for the nuts. They would be great served with vanilla icecream. I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Mmmmm! Just made these and they are soooo good! Can't go wrong with toffee and chocolate....hubby loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Excellent flavor - not too sweet, but really nutty and good! My boys loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States