Chocolate Chip Sourdough Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Followed recipe as given. These had a good flavour and once you stopped expecting them to have the texture of muffins they weren't bad. They are very dense and chewy, and more like a bread roll than a muffin, but the cinnamon with milk chocolate is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo C

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Dense, hard, and unappealing flavor. I followed the recipe to the letter and am usually a successful baker, but I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I should have read the reviews and added baking soda. My muffins turned out hard and too chewy and dense. I guess my sourdough starter is too new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I followed dpoet's suggestions and these turned out amazing. I'll be making the recipe with those modifications again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curvy_em
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I tried these before reading the reviews and while mixing the batter, I noticed that it was very very thick so I knew these would be a heavier "biscuit" rather than a muffin. However, keeping that in mind, as well as the fact that I got distracted while adding ingredients and forgot the Cinnamon; I found these to be delicious! I used a young, regular sourdough starter and everything except the Cinnamon was added as the recipe stated. The flour I used was a whole wheat organic, the sugar was unprocessed organic, and the salt was Celtic Sea salt. These things may have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curvy_em

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pbfanRach
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
As suggested, I used 2 tsp of baking soda and 3/4 cup of sugar. I put a tsp of honey in it and used less chocolate chips. I had no problem with them rising, and they are just the normal density of any muffin, however I also had a little trouble with them sticking to the paper wrappers. Oh well. They taste pretty good, and I'd suggest giving the recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pbfanRach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
followed advice...to increase sugar to 3/4 cup and add 2t bake soda to 1/4 cup water excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I used Friendship Bread Starter for this recipe. I used half a cup of baking cocoa to make the batter more chocolate-y and cut the flour back to a cup and a quarter. I also upped the milk to a half cup because I knew the batter would be thick and cut the sugar back to 1/3 as the Friendship Bread Starter was sweet enough on it's own. Even with my changes, these weren't good. They were heavy, tough and bland. I ended up throwing them out. Sorry. I really tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Is there suppose to be baking powder in these? Mine were doughy and didn't raise up like most muffins do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wray, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States