Chocolate Chip Snack Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I recently had this cake at a gathering- it is awesome! I went home and made this for my family the next day...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was really good, but not amazing. Grating the German chocolate bar took forever and I gave up and just used extra mini chips. It was really moist, but I think some chocolate frosting would make it even better. All-in-all, I would make again, but probably would frost for better taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I've baked this for years and call it "Better than sex cake"! It's a winner!! Oh, and I use regular size chips and it works great!! And I put all the grated chocolate in the cake...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Amazing cake! I didn't know whether to use a cake mix with pudding or without. So I took a chance and used a cake mix with pudding and then I still added the instant vanilla pudding. Wonderful, very moist. I thought it would be to much chocolate but it was perfect. I was worried the powdered sugar would melt because you put it on the chocolate which is kinda melted so I stuck it in the refrigerator for 5 minutes and the powdered sugar was still there the next day. My husband took the leftovers to work the next day and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was great.. it came out so moist and wonderful. my mother grew up loving chocolate chip cake and could never figure out how to make it, so i made this for her birthday and she keeps talking about it! i followed the recipe exactly.. my mom told me i have to make this for her again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
very simple and sure you can't ask for a quicker way to prepare a cake! Only I don't really understand the grated chocolate in the batter. Well, I wouldn't say this cake is ok for company at a formal dinner, but it goes well with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk. I can add it stays moist and nice (this is the 3rd day...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was an amazingly easy and moist cake. I made it in a Bundt pan and used chocolate frosting. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
My mother passed this same recipe down to me. This is a delicious cake! We brought it once to a friend's house for dinner and now every time we come for dinner, they request this cake. Try it - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States