Chocolate Chip Snack Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I recently had this cake at a gathering- it is awesome! I went home and made this for my family the next day...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was really good, but not amazing. Grating the German chocolate bar took forever and I gave up and just used extra mini chips. It was really moist, but I think some chocolate frosting would make it even better. All-in-all, I would make again, but probably would frost for better taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I've baked this for years and call it "Better than sex cake"! It's a winner!! Oh, and I use regular size chips and it works great!! And I put all the grated chocolate in the cake...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Amazing cake! I didn't know whether to use a cake mix with pudding or without. So I took a chance and used a cake mix with pudding and then I still added the instant vanilla pudding. Wonderful, very moist. I thought it would be to much chocolate but it was perfect. I was worried the powdered sugar would melt because you put it on the chocolate which is kinda melted so I stuck it in the refrigerator for 5 minutes and the powdered sugar was still there the next day. My husband took the leftovers to work the next day and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was great.. it came out so moist and wonderful. my mother grew up loving chocolate chip cake and could never figure out how to make it, so i made this for her birthday and she keeps talking about it! i followed the recipe exactly.. my mom told me i have to make this for her again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene Henecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
very simple and sure you can't ask for a quicker way to prepare a cake! Only I don't really understand the grated chocolate in the batter. Well, I wouldn't say this cake is ok for company at a formal dinner, but it goes well with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk. I can add it stays moist and nice (this is the 3rd day...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was an amazingly easy and moist cake. I made it in a Bundt pan and used chocolate frosting. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
My mother passed this same recipe down to me. This is a delicious cake! We brought it once to a friend's house for dinner and now every time we come for dinner, they request this cake. Try it - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States