Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LA Homespun
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I only had a stick of butter so I cut this recipe by 1/4 (24 servings) which gave me a dozen using my Pampered Chef medium scoop. I melted the butter and mixed well after each addition. I did not add coconut extract or pecans...they came out perfectly and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I always make cookies that will travel well for the holidays. I made these for the first time and my granddaughters just loved them. My husband thought they were the best I've ever made. It is definitely going into my recipe file for the holidays. Delicious cookies; I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Omitted the nuts, used toasted coconut flakes instead. Used 2 1/2 tsp of Vanilla instead of any coconut extract. Made them on the small side. They are perfect, and are going fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I wish I had read up on shortbread cookies before making this recipe - my frustration level would have been significantly lower. For those of you who don't know, expect an extremely dry and crumbly dough. I had to add an additional 3T of butter to make them even manageable - pressing with a fork was out of the question. I had to knead each *ball* in my hands to get the pieces to come together then gingerly attempt to shape (and be forwarned, your cookies will come out looking exactly as they did before going into the oven). In any event, after cooling, they did taste quite nice with good crunch on the outter portion of the cookies. Watch your sizes - I made mine a bit to large at first - these are really almost too sweet and added surgar is most definately not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! I love the light, crispy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lee Newsome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have been using this recipe for years (with the exception of the coconut extract and nuts). We all love this cookie. (4 stars as written, 5 stars my version) My recipe does call for 2 cups of chocolate chips. I like the additional amount of chocolate. Mini chips, regular size semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips all work well. These cookies also good to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NatWilliams639
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I love this recipe. It's a nice base shortbread recipe that I've altered to make a variety of shortbread cookies. My current favorite is to substitute lemon extract for the coconut extract and add in the zest of two lemons instead of the chocolate chips. My family LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Deeeelicious! I have to admit I adjusted the recipe quite a bit, but they turned out so perfect, I'll definitely try the recipe again. I didn't have vanilla or coconut extracts, so I used a carob and orange liqueur I had bought while on holiday (3 tsps), cinnamon (1 tsp) and cocoa (1 tbsp). The toasted pecans were so tasty I added a few extra, and I didn't have chocolate chips so I broke up a slab of lindt dark chocolate that had nuts and maybe bits of peel (?) in it as well. I also used brown sugar as I didn't have confectioners sugar. The result was fantastic. Really, really, tasty. My only regret is that I had scaled down the recipe so much as they didn't last long! I think I will make a Christmas version later on with orange essence and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Love! I've made it twice now, both times with just chocolate chips, no nuts, and swapping almond extract for the coconut. The second time I made 1/4 of the recipe and instead of making cookies I just pressed the dough into an extra small sheet pan and after cooking it for 10 min I cut it into squares - WAY easier than making the cookies I think. This is my favorite shortbread recipe that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These were sooooo good and super easy! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect...even at high altitude (8500 ft). I have to make a second batch to pass out to friends because my family and I ate the ALL of them already (there were 10 of us though!) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baileybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States