Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookie Logs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MizMagg
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I had to make a few changes based on what I had in the house. So I'm giving the recipe a five because I think if I could have followed it strictly, it definitely would've been a five-star cookie. With just one cup of chocolate chips handy, I decided to substitute a quarter cup of the flour for a quarter cup of baking cocoa and save the chips for melting and dipping the cookies after they were baked. I also didn't have walnuts so I chopped up a cup of almonds very fine. In spite of these alterations, the cookies are light, buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I've made these cookies for years now using this recipe. Everyone at work constantly asks me to bring these in for the holidays. I do not change a thing and everyone says how awesome they are. Luv this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My logs melted in the oven. They became flat, what did I do Wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Well, apparently I made these rather large, as I had to bake them for 20 minutes. And they didnt' fall apart, except one when I was a tad enthusiastic with the chocolate. But, they worked well enough so perhaps next time I'll roll out the dough then cut into pieces--that might work better for me. Still, very nice cookies. I love shortbread but am not a fan of chocolate so much--I think, however, they are a good addition to my cookie tins. Hubs enjoyed them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
These were great! Very easy to make an so Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Substitute vegan margarine (Earth Balance is good) and vegan chocolate chips and these make some tasty vegan cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I can't tell you what my husband said - suffice it to say he loved them. I cooked them about 4 minutes longer until I saw the bottoms begin to brown a bit and let them cool sufficiently and had very little problem with breakage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Easy, quick, and got devoured in an instant. I'm glad I tried one of these BEFORE I left home, because I came back with an empty plate! Tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
simple & delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Amazing cookie! I forgot to add the mini chips into the first batch, but both with and without them, they're delicious. The only problem I had with them is that more than half the batch broke while I was dipping them. I waited until they cooled to take off cookie sheet as called for, but many broke.. maybe that's a positive thing because I had to eat all of those ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States