Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookie Logs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My husband is a shortbread cookie addict and he loved these! I will be making them again. I followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MizMagg
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I had to make a few changes based on what I had in the house. So I'm giving the recipe a five because I think if I could have followed it strictly, it definitely would've been a five-star cookie. With just one cup of chocolate chips handy, I decided to substitute a quarter cup of the flour for a quarter cup of baking cocoa and save the chips for melting and dipping the cookies after they were baked. I also didn't have walnuts so I chopped up a cup of almonds very fine. In spite of these alterations, the cookies are light, buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I've made these cookies for years now using this recipe. Everyone at work constantly asks me to bring these in for the holidays. I do not change a thing and everyone says how awesome they are. Luv this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My logs melted in the oven. They became flat, what did I do Wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Well, apparently I made these rather large, as I had to bake them for 20 minutes. And they didnt' fall apart, except one when I was a tad enthusiastic with the chocolate. But, they worked well enough so perhaps next time I'll roll out the dough then cut into pieces--that might work better for me. Still, very nice cookies. I love shortbread but am not a fan of chocolate so much--I think, however, they are a good addition to my cookie tins. Hubs enjoyed them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
These were great! Very easy to make an so Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Substitute vegan margarine (Earth Balance is good) and vegan chocolate chips and these make some tasty vegan cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I can't tell you what my husband said - suffice it to say he loved them. I cooked them about 4 minutes longer until I saw the bottoms begin to brown a bit and let them cool sufficiently and had very little problem with breakage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Easy, quick, and got devoured in an instant. I'm glad I tried one of these BEFORE I left home, because I came back with an empty plate! Tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
simple & delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States