Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
felt they were dry, but had a good taste. Just needed more coffee to wash them down. Easy to make and they were eaten at both a tea party and at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I followed the directions exactly except I added a 1/2 teaspoon on vanilla extract as mentioned by a different reviewer. They came out kind of a weird consistency, not like any scone I've ever had. Kind of chewy. I liked that they didn't use butter or oil, but they also tasted like they don't have butter or oil. I probably wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Super easy, but they weren't that great. Didn't really remind me of a scone at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Quick and delicious. I didn't have cream of tartar, so I substituted 2 tsp of baking powder and eliminated the baking soda. I would also use a little less than a cup of chocolate chips next time, as it felt like there were too many for the amount of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I thought these were super quick and tasty. I used whole wheat flour and baked them at high altitude and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I love this reduced-fat recipe! It's just what I was looking for. I have also made this recipe with almonds instead of chocolate chips. Just add 1/2 Cup sliced almonds and a teaspoon of almond extract in place of the chocolate chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family loves this recipe, but I make a full-fat version by cutting in 4 T. butter instead of the applesauce. When my husband takes these to work, I get a lot of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimniki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I just made a 1/2 batch because I wasn't sure how they would go over. My husband just said they were amazing & he wished I'd made more. They were not rubbery at all - they came out brown and crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I cooked for only 13 minutes. Be sure to only use the top rack so the bottoms won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I was invited to a tea part bridal shower nd needed to ring scones. I have never made them before and luckily this recipe had all the inredients that were in my pantry. I don't think they were rubbery at all as some of the other comments suggested. The only changes I made are that i sprinkled sugar to the top before baking and I only baked for 13 minutes. I made one batch for 15 minutes and they burned on the bottom. The second batch, I baked for 13 minutes and they turned out great! Very easy and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corycooks79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Not that good. They are very bland, dry and hard. There is not much taste. I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States