Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I have so much fun with this recipe we have renamed it "Surprise Cookies". The possiblilities are as limited as your pudding, chips, and imagination. Variations I have tried are choc. pudding + choc chips, choc pudding + peanut butter chips, lemon pudding + chocolate chips, vanilla pudding + raspberry chips, butterscotch pudding + butterscotch chips (our favorite). Just try whatever crosses your mind! As far as spreading out, I increased the flour to just a little more than 2 1/2 cups. Also, use stick margarine and NOT the soft spread type as they have way too much oil and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I made 10 dozen for an event at my 14 year old daughter's school. She said the boys declared they were the best cookie they'd ever had (you know it's important what the boys think). I used vanilla pudding and excluded the nuts. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Incredible! I must say, I was wondering what all the fuss was about, but after trying them, I quickly found out! I made 3 batches: lemon pudding with white chocolate chips, vanilla pudding with butterscotch chips, and butterscotch pudding with milk chocolate chips. Both were exceptional! I omitted the nuts in both recipes, and increased the baking time to 11 1/2 minutes (because they were so "cake like" that they fell apart). Perfect adjustment! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. Fake tasting and very odd consistancy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Everyone loves these cookies. I've tried so many different variations: Cheesecake with cinnamon chips Butterscotch with butterscotch chips Pistachio, Lemon, Vanilla, Coconut Creme, Chocolate, Banana creme, Chocolate-Butterscotch combination, Banana creme-Coconut creme combination. My favorite so far is the banana creme -replacing the vanilla flavoring with maple and adding a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
These cookies are wonderful! The crispy outside and chewy inside are just what I love. {I do not recommend saving any dough for later baking. The cookies will not rise and look as pretty.} As for leftover cookies....they will be just as good the second day....crispy and chewy. Can make these cookies with full confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I used vanilla pudding with a 12-oz. pkg. of semi-sweet morsels and a 10-oz. pkg. of Skor toffee bits; I did not use nuts because my kids aren't thrilled about them in their cookies. They turned out delicious, but they spread a lot and I'm not sure why. I ended up with exactly 36 cookies, so I don't think I made them too big. I did roll them into balls instead of dropping them, but I don't think that matters. Maybe it's my cookie sheets. Anyway, they sure are yummy. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These cookies are the favorite of my family and my in-laws. I use a 1 cup shortening instead of butter and omit the nuts. I also use only a half a bag of chips. I've only had them turn out wrong once and that was the second time baking them. Its take a little getting use to the dough, but they cookies are always wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Very Yummy! I used Banana Pudding and White Chocolate Chips. Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Fantastic! I've used different puddings and chips and these always come out well. Chocolate pudding and PB chips are always popular, as is lemon pudding and white chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States