Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2001
The "Fat Friday Cake Club" at work loved the cake. It's very good with chocolate frosting. The chocolate chips will sink to the bottom of the pan. The chips make a chocolate layer at the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I may have rated this recipe with more than one star, but it did not have the solid consistency of a traditional pound cake. I found it to be more similar to a snack cake. I, also found that the chips sank to the bottom. I wish I had thought to dust the chips with flour prior to adding them as I understand that is supposed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This cake was SO good - the only thing that kept it from 5 stars in our house was that the chips all sank. If you really want your chips to be mixed in well, I'd use mini chips, I intend to next time. Otherwise, with chocolate fudge frosting, this was uber yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I wish I had read the reviews before I baked this! I had the same experience as others... my chips sank too(thought about dusting them with flour, but the recipe didn't say to so I didn't). It's not really a pound cake. The texture is not "heavy" enough. Found it to taste "eggy". It's good and it's easy (which is a huge plus!), but I wouldn't take it out of the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This recipe yielded a cake that was moist and thicker than the conventional box cake. The chips did sink to the bottom of the cake, like the other reviewers found, but it was still good. It still tasted somewhat like a cake mix, something I was trying to kind of disguise, but it was definitely better than a plain cake mix. It had somewhat of a pleasant chocolate chip cookie flavor. WARNING to those who might use this cake to make a "cut" cake for a special occasion (you know, like those cute teddy bears, rockets, trains, and so forth that you cut cake apart and reassemble to make): at least in my experience, this cake was not a good fit for that! The chocolate chips made the bottom part of the cake really hard to cut through cleanly, so it started to fall apart. Frosting didn't cling well to the cut part either. I was making a castle with three layers of cake stacked up, and was trying to square it up a little. Needless to say, that part became the back that nobody looked at! Anyway, that aside, this recipe makes a decent cake that's not fabulous, but definitely better than a plain cake mix, something my parents appreciated because they're tired of eating boring cakes (for some reason I don't understand, I started a tradition of special character and theme cakes, so most of the cakes I make look better than they taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I have been using this exact recipe for 10 years and I am only 28 years old. I have found ways to make this recipe even better every time I make it. A few tips for those of you who really did like this cake but would like the chips to not sink here are some tips: 1. Use 2 ounces of grated chocolate (do not grate too fine) 2. Use 2/3 cup chocolate chips 3. Use an extra tablespoon of vanilla pudding to make the consistancy thicker. This holds the chips in place. 4. When the cake is cooled sprinkle the top with powdered sugar. ** This has been a huge hit with my family, extended family, co-workers and friends. I am always asked to make this for whatever the occassion may be. HOPE THIS HELPS!!! Megan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very GOOD! I added the chocolate chips before the wet ingredients, and the chocolate chips did NOT sink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kiss the cook
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My 12 year old son made this recipe. Very easy to make and turned out great! We had to make a few substitutions as we didn't have all the ingredients. We used the food processor to chop some choco chips into bitty pieces instead of grating a piece of chocolate. We also used all semi-sweet instead of milk chocolate. We used a white cake mix instead of yellow, and we used the entire package of vanilla instant pudding (5.1 oz). We baked it in a bundt pan. It turned out perfect. Very moist and delicious. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
mix 1 teaspoon of flour with the choc chips then add to batter to avoid them sinking to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I just made this cake and it is AWESOME!! I only had .5 cup of oil so I added .5 cup of melted butter. I found the batter to be a little too thick so I added a little more milk and Viola!! This cake is moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States