Chocolate Chip Pistachio Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I love all things pistachio and these were a huge disappointment. I made some changes, so I can't really rate the recipe badly, but I had hoped that the pistachio flavor would have been more pronounced! Like others, I omitted the regular chocolate chips and added only white chocolate, omitting the extra ball on top. I'm glad I did! I don't think I would have liked these at all with semi-sweet chips. Basically they taste like glorified sugar cookies. Next time, If there will be one, I'll add some almond extract and maybe two packages of pudding mix to give these cookies the extra edge they need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I mixed everything together with these changes- I used 3/4 teaspoon vanilla bean paste and a couple of drops of pistachio extract. The extract I have says to use 1/4 of the amount called for in the recipe. I chopped a mix of pistachios, walnuts, and cashews, approx. 1/3 cup, and added it to the mix. Like others, I added 1 cup of mini chocolate chips. I used a #40 scoop and pressed the cookies with a glass and sparkling white sugar. Because I used a silpat sheet in the pan, I baked these for around 12 minutes. My yield was 3 1/2 - 4 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
The cookie wasn't bad but the chocolate and nuts just didn't go well together. Maybe it would have been better to use white chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I haven't decided yet whether these cookies are just good or exceptional. I made half the batch (carefully measured half a pudding packet) and the pistachio flavor was not very distinct - I think I should have used the whole packet for half a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
they were ok, but not my favorite. I left out the white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I love your Cookies so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I have mixed feelings about these cookies. They seemed dry and not very appealing yet I ate almost the whole batch. I liked the flavor but the texture seemed off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
These are FANTASTIC! I was lazy (shocking, right ;)?) and just mixed the pudding mix and white chocolate chips in with everything and they are AWESOME! I only made 1/2 a batch to try them and I'm looking forward to making more. I did not use walnuts per personal preference. I baked a few as cookies and froze the rest in balls to use in my Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes and they were awesome w/chocolate cake. Good stuff; THANKS for a nice, slightly off the beaten path, chocolate chip cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I've made these twice. The first time, I was in a rush, I didn't make two individual balls, I just put all the ingredients in together, a bag of white chocolate chips, and made it into cookies. The second time, I followed the directions as written. My boyfriend and I both agreed it was better the first time when I just threw it all in together. Overall, a good recipe, a nice change from the regular chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
If you are looking at both recipes for Pistachio Choc Cookie save yourself the time! I read them side by side to see which one I wanted to try, and realized this one (by Marlene)is the EXACT same as the one posted first (by Lisa). Other than a 1/4 tsp difference in the amount of salt, and the addition of white choc chips they are identical. This shouldn't one really be a separate recipe, it should be a review of the original with a mention of the very slight change. Other than that, I love these cookies. Since they are a bit light in color they are a nice contrast to other traditional xmas cookies. I'll also try them on St. Patrick's Day or for a church bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States