Chocolate Chip Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
We make this pie very often (every holiday and special event) and love it. Over the time we have adjusted it by leaving out the nuts and increasing the baking temp to 350. The picture does not do this justice. Ours has an evenly light brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Add vanilla and instant coffee, delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Really good, but mine turned out more like a really big chocolate chip cookie in a pie crust. Not sure if that's how it was supposed to be, but it was delicious nonetheless! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiley Hanje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Not anything special. I will not make again. Prefer regular chocolate chip cookies... b/c you can taste the chocolate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
As a couple of other reviewers have stated, this is basically a chocolate chip cookie in a pie shell. We didn't like the texture very much. Also, I cut the sugar in half and it was plenty sweet since it's so chocolatey. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this pie according to the recipe without any adjustments. It came out looking like a big cookie pie, basically. It tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I had 4 pies to make for a Thanksgiving Pie drive for the teachers at my son's high school. I made two apple pies, but I also wanted to try something different and this recipe caught my eye, especially since it doesn't need to be refrigerated. Based on other reviewers feedback, I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also used mini chocolate chips and cut the quantity back to 3/4 cup. Baked on a lower rack for 1 hour. I made a test pie for the family and they loved it (it bit too sweet and gooey for me, but I also don't like warm cookies and they do). We waited until it cooled off a bit, but was still warm. It cut and served perfectly. We then tasted it again a few hours later when it was completely cooled and that's when I liked it the best. This is a delicious pie and a nice change from the traditional Thanksgiving pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM29922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Mine was overcooked after 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I thought this was good, but I made a few minor changes. I reduced the sugar to just over 3/4 cup, added a couple more tablespoons of flour and added a dash of vanilla. Also, i used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet bc that's what I had on hand. It was super easy, which I loved. Definitely serve it with ice cream, even with the reduced sugar it would have been too sweet alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Tastes Great! Just a few too many chocolate chips for us, easily changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States