Chocolate Chip Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this for a school project: Make a dish from your favorite state. I was surfing the web for a kentucky dessert without bourbon and came across this. Since someone posted a comment saying the traditional kentucky derby pie and this were similar, I decided to do this. SO GLAD I DID!!!!! Everyone loved it (I served it with vanilla ice cream)! I did stick it in the fridge overnight, which made it taste kind of like a cookie rather than the brownie-like flavor it has when the chocolate chips were melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeahD
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was pretty yummy. Very sweet though. I did the 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar thing and excluded the nuts and baked it for about an hour and ten minutes and it came out pretty good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This pie is absolutely delicious. I altered the recipe a bit by using 1 cup of brown sugar and a tsp of vanilla. Topped warm pie with vanilla ice cream and it was rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My husbands favorite! I prefer the half brown sugar/half white sugar combo instead but my husband likes the sweetness of all white. Can't go wrong on this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is my boyfriend's favorite! I have requests to make this often for his colleagues at the fire station!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My 4 year old daughter hated it, my husband thought it was ok but didn't want to take it to his co-workers. Made this recipe as written and no one in my house wanted much of it. Might try it again with suggested changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This didn't turn out anything like the picture. All the chocolate chips sank to the bottom so it was like a huge chocolate chip without the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This pie is wonderful! I followed the recipe except I did not add the nuts. Baked it at 325 degrees for only 45 minutes, and it was golden brown and the middle was set. Served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. It was a hit at Thanksgiving along with the other pies! Both kids and adults raved about it. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this with a mixture of semi-sweet and white chocolate chips(probably ended up with a cup and a half) and left out the pecans (don't like them). I thought it was pretty tasty. It is rich and not for those who don't like super sweet desserts but if you like chocolate chip cookies it's definitely worth a go!!! Good served warm with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Too sweet. I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup, added 1 tsp of vanilla, but I would cut some of the sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States