Chocolate Chip Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a family favorite that a friend in England made for us the first time 12 years ago. The key to success in this pie is to beat the eggs for at least 2 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. Otherwise the pie separates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Delicious! Family loved it. The only change I made was the BUTTER. Listened to another viewer and cut the butter down to stick and a half. Next time, will use a graham cracker crust and milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I doubled the recipe and used two deep dish crusts. I used the full amount of butter and everyone loved the pie; no one felt it was over buttered. In fact, I gave one of the pies to my teens; it was devoured. The other was for some colleagues that I had over . They are from Mexico and Peru and loved it. They thought that it was " really American" and took the left over slices back to their hotel. I recommend it as a special treat; it is too rich for every day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was really good. However, I found that it was too much filling for my pie crust (frozen store bought.) I actually ended up with a mess in my oven because I put too much of the filling into the pie shell. My guests all enjoyed it, though and I will make it again, I'm sure. The only changes I made were to use pecans instead of walnuts, and I bought a crust rather than made one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Sorry, but we did not enjoy this. Just can't put my finger on what was wrong, but it didn't seem like a good combination of ingredients. I really wanted to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Good, but not great - there are better "kentucky / derby pie" type recipes on the site. This one turned out like a big, unbalanced chocolate chip cookie, with all the chocolate on the bottom and a bland, soft cookie on top. Used walnuts, but suspect that pecans would have added some needed richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Buttery, chocolatey goodness! I did what another review suggested and put a little less butter, and I added a few drops of almond extract. We loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I loved this recipe. I did not have a pie crust but followed the rest of the recipe. It turned out wonderful. It baked in about 40 to 45 minutes without the crust. It was so good I will make it this way again. Eat it warm with vanilla ice cream and you'll want seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Tastes like a big cookie in a pie. I only added 1 stick of butter. Also, when pie was done, I added addtl choc chips to the top and spread out like frosting. Only bad thing is the chips seems to settle at the bottom during baking. Anyway - big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a great dessert. Easy to make and always a crowd pleaser!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States