Chocolate Chip Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
If you've ever had chocolate chip cookie pie, you would know that this is SUPPOSED to be a gooey pie! It is not supposed to be like a giant/thick cookie in a pie shell...it's gooey rich sweet decadence in a pie shell! That being said, I omit the nuts, usually cut down a bit on the butter and add a teeny bit of salt. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good! I believe some of the reviewers here are mistaken when they say that when you take it out it's not done. The thing is, although it's gooey, it's definitely done. The filling of pie's are usually gooey. But it definitely tasted better after refrigerating it. The gooey filling is hardened and it tastes like a delicious brownie-like dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Excellent and simple. My 10 year old son wanted to make a pie and he picked this one. After reading reviews I did cut the butter to 3/4c. Turned out great, very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Bunny Chef
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
My changes were to only use 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 t vanilla (I'm not a huge fan of vanilla and using half ended up being a good decision!), leave out the nuts (we don't like them), and 1/8 teaspoon salt. I read a bunch of the reviews first and made sure to beat my eggs for about 3 minutes in my mixer, and added my melted butter when it was warm rather than hot. Then I checked the temperature of the batter before adding the chocolate chips to make sure it wasn't warm enough to melt them. I read that the chips sink to the bottom of the pie, so used 3/4 cup regular chocolate chips and 1/4 cup minis because I thought maybe the minis wouldn't sink. Turns out they'll sink no matter what size they are! 40 minutes after putting the pie in the oven, I sprinkled the top with another handful of chocolate chips. My pie was actually done after 50 minutes. I stuck a toothpick in the center and it came out mostly clean. The pie is wonderful- it's just like eating a soft, gooey, fresh from the oven cookie. Even when it cools and firms up, the texture is still like that! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
WAY too much butter. I thought it was a good idea, but definately NOT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I recommend using a DEEP dish pie crust! My filling overflowed in my oven which created lots of smoke. After cleaning up the mess, I finished cooking the pie and it was very good and RICH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I thought this was great! Like a big gooey chocolate chip cookie. I just made it in the pie plate without a crust. I also reduced the butter to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 teaspoon salt. Perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The ONLY change I made was reducing the butter to 1 stick instead of 2. It turned out to be a gooey mess - the pie fell completely while cooling - when I cut it, it was just a mess - crunchy on top and a gooey mess on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovetosparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poquoson, Virginia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My family loves this pie. Everytime we have a family get together someone asks me to bring it. It is very rich but if you like that it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
My pie never cooked either. After 2 hours, it was still so gooey that it wouldn't hold shape when cut. I followed the directions exactly, I can't figure it out. So dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States