Chocolate Chip Peppermint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I wanted to love these cookies, and almost did when I ate them submerged in milk, but a bite of this cookie by itself leaves a fishy aftertaste. Why?? Too much baking soda!!! When I make this recipe again, and I will, because I LOVE chocolate and mint, I plan to use about 3/4 tsp of baking powder and perhaps 1/4 tsp baking powder. Some recipes use baking powder alone. But when baking, beware of a preponderance of baking soda; it will ruin your baked goods. I just made the Soft Molasses Cookies I from this site, calling for 2 tsp baking soda, and had to throw them out - nothing could save them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These were so close to being perfect--moist, choclatey and delicious--but there is at least two times too much peppermint extract called for in this recipe. Next time I'll halve, if not quarter it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeymoogle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Excellent cookies! I only baked them for about 8-9 minutes after reading other reviews. These were perfectly soft and so yummy! The only downside is that I ate way too many! These will definitely be in our cookie collection from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This cookie is great! I suggest adding some crushed peppermint into the batter. This adds a little crunch- it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made these exactly as the recipe. We like crispy cookies so I baked them as per the recipe. I have to say they are the BEST cookies ever! I loved them, all my kids loved them, the neighbor kids loved them! We will definitely be making these again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great flavor - so good, but I definitely cooked these for a shorter amount of time than called for and they STILL turned out pretty close to rock hard. I may have to heat them up for 30 second befor eating to soften. I think I will make them again eventually, but definitely cut the time even more. Good flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaLeinonen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheboygan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
AMAZING!!!!!!!! I added a little bit more flour, and sprinkled crushed candy can on top after they were done. I cooked them for only 11 minutes... they turned out perfect!! My family loved them. I did not have any peppermint extract so I used about 1/8 - 1/4 teaspoon peppermint oil instead. Peppermint extract makes the cookie harder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These are great... I added 1/2 cup more flour since I'm at altitude and wanted a softer cookie. Also added a drop or two more mint since I love the flavor, cooked for 9 minutes and they turned out PERFECT. I think 12-15 minutes would have been WAY too long. They have a nice semi-crispy texture (on the outside) and will hopefully stay soft tomorrow as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Kudos! This is a wonderful recipe. The cookies have a wonderful texture. Folks, keep in mind how essential it is to let these cookies cool completely before moving them around. They are very fragile fresh out of the oven. Mmm... So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pampampampam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Seriously, people LOVE these cookies. I make them to give people around Christmas time, and it doesn't matter whether they are hot or not, you will make new best friends if you give someone these cookies. They're DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States