Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Frequent go to breakfast when I need something quick that all my kids will eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These are pretty good. The rolled oats are very chewy in them. They are pretty sweet and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
My kids LOVE these and ask for them daily. With 100% whole wheat flour (substituted), rolled oats and applesauce, I don't feel guilty serving them up for breakfast. I may even try to slip in some flax or other hidden nutrition when they aren't looking too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made these muffins today to freeze for my grandkids' upcoming visit. I didn't have any rolled oats in the pantry but I did have a single serving envelope of Quaker Peaches n Cream instant oatmeal so I decided to use that instead. I added about 6 to 7 ounces of unsweetened applesauce and a handful of chocolate chips. I also cut back on the butter to 5 tablespoons. I added a splash of vanilla and several dashes of cinnamon. I cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 cup. Upon reading other reviews I upped the baking powder to 1.5 tsp. I got 9 paper liners 3/4 full and baked around 15-17 minutes. Tested doneness by inserting toothpick in the center of several muffins and they were done. These are very moist, flavorful, and not crumbly at all. Delicious flavor. This recipe seems very amenable to adding/varying ingredients. Thanks for helping me provide my grandchildren delicious and healthful muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Awesome, easy, 3 year old approved and very moist! I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 and still found it to be really sweet. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I wanted to try this recipe as it seems a healthy alternative to other muffins. However, I live at 6,500 feet above sea level and this requires alterations or it would not rise. So here is what I did. I cut back on the sugar by two tablespoons and cut the baking powder by a pinch. (Yes, I realize that is not exact but I just didn't fill the measuring spoon quite full. Also, I did not have applesauce so substituted two large mashed bananas. I needed to increase the liquid so added 1/2 of a diced, ripe mango. I thought this would complement the banana flavor. As some reviewers suggested, I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon and one of vanilla. Oh, I also subbed the chocolate chips for a 1/2 cup of craisens. I didn't expect the muffins to rise much based on other reviews so filled the muffin cups 3/4 full and baked. If I could give this recipe more stars I would. It is a great base that I can play with. Fabulous!!! Also the texture was cake like and no crumbling. Will definitely make again, and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlov71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Delicious! Lovely texture, not too sweet. One of my favourite "go-to" muffin recipes. Mint chocolate chips also work very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
best muffin ever! Kids loved them. I made them gluten and dairy free and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I substituted oatmeal with 1.5 c. of ground up, toasted hazelnuts and used milk chocolate chips. I also added vanilla. Soooo delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The muffins were falling apart, they tasted like eggs, and they were very oily for some reason. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States