Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe as it reads is a little dry. It needs some work, but a good starting point to alter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe! I did alter as well but I gave 5 stars because I didn't try it without alterations. I used 3/4 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of sour cream, 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 cup of chocolate chips. The muffin batter was delicious and personally I'd cut back on the chocolate chips, too much chocolate to me. I did the topping but added 1/2 a tablespoon of cinnamon to the sugar mixture and that was delicious! I didn't change the oil and I only had 3/4 cup of sugar because I don't like things too sweet. I thought the muffin was perfect in sweetness. I also dont own a muffin pan and made these in coffee mugs! I filled these 2/3 full and placed them in a pan with approximately 1.5 cups of water. The steam keeps them moist. You need to grease the cups (I use butter and a spoon to spread it around in the mug). Exactly 25 minutes and they were perfect. Very cute way to serve to guests. These mugs are small and only hold about a cup of liquid by the way. I also live at a high altitude but I didn't change anything just watched the time (started with 15 since everyone was saying their cooked at 18 and added a few min at a time) and at 25 min used a toothpick to check centers and they were done. Many people say use oven safe mugs, mine are old and I have no idea if they are, I just tested one first and no cracking occurred and so I used all. Made 6 muffins and used all the batter if the mugs are all the same set/size like mine. I did notice one mug still says microwave/dishwasher safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This one is a family favorite! I make these a few times a month and they just disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
There are never any of these muffins left by the second day! My kids and husband love these muffins. I tried them with big chocolate chips last time, and my hubby said they are better with the mini chips. The things I change, as suggested by other, are a full cup of sugar, a full cup of milk, a full cup of chocolate chips, and add a tsp of vanilla. I also change the oil to applesauce and increase it to 1/2 cup. This can make the muffins stick to the cup lines, so I use cooking spray on the muffin cup liners. Thanks for the reviews, they helped me make a wonderful muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
The pre-made kind you just add water to makes better muffins than this recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and added more milk and oil, and while it may have made the muffins more moist, it couldn't improve the doughy, bland flavor. I'll look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
There alright. Might need some vanilla or something, they taste a little too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kby78
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These were ok. I followed the recipe exactly except I added 1/4 c sour cream(another reviewer had suggested for dryness). They had a great flavor but I thought they were still too dry & dense. I'm not sure how to fix this so I'll try another recipe next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Iron, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made these with white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, because I didn't have any all-purpose flour. They came out slightly dry, but otherwise delicious. I tend to butter my muffins, so the dryness isn't much of an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I added half a packet of instant vanilla pudding mix and doubled the amount of oil and milk as well as 1 tsp of vanilla extract and added an extra half cup of flour to help make up for the liquid increase and instead of the brown sugar\sugar glaze i used turbinado sugar or "sugar in the raw" and made them into mini muffins instead of full size and they turned out very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
very good choc. chip muffin. Definitely add a coarse sugar topping for a little crunch though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States