Chocolate Chip Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2003
They have great texture and moistness. Muffin recipe needs maybe a half cup more of sugar added to it though. Also, please note: It calls for self-rising flour. If you don't have that you may substitute for each 1 cup of all purpose flour add 1 and 1/2 tsp. of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I used mini chocolate chips and made mini muffins. I would have rated this 4 stars, because these muffins tasted like biscuits with chocolate chips. However, there were several factors that earned the recipe an overall 5 star rating. 1) My kids liked them and they were a big hit with the kids at a play group I hosted. 2) I like that there is so much calcium packed into these muffins. 3) They are so quick and easy to make. I will definitely make again, but next time, will double the mini chips and sprinkle some cinnamon sugar on top. I would encourage people not to be discouraged by negative reviews. Try this recipe! Just increase the sugar or the chips - all it needs is a bit more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Really good! used vanilla yogurt, as thats what I had, and just dumped in 3/4 of a bag of chocolate chips, and one pouch of brown sugar instant oatmeal. Followed other reviews, and doubled the sugar to one cup. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANNIBALWENDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
These were great, I only gave 4 stars because I followed the advice of other reviewers and increased the sugar and chips to 1 cup. I mixed all ingredients except chips in my food processor. I added the chips by hand. I have also make these double chocolate by substituting 1/2 cup of cocoa making it 2 1/2 cups flour and 1/2 cup cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
add baking poweder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
The best chocolate chip recipe I have found, with a few modifications! They come out light, moist and fluffy. I modified the recipe to make it a bit healthier and they still turned out great! I used 1 egg and 2 egg whites, 1 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cups white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat (just so they wouldn't be dense, but you could probably do 1/2 and 1/2), 2 TBL flax seed or wheat germ, skim milk, 2 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, and 1 1/2 tsp salt (because I didn't have self-rising flour!). 1 1/2 tsp baking soda per every cup of flour is a bit much for this recipe. You can really taste it! It made 24 mini muffins and 4 big-regular muffins. My kids love them, and I feel good about making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
probably would be good if recipe had stated self rising flour maybe try again with baking power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Instead of donuts,I made these for my family for our last camping trip. They were excellent! I increase the sugar and added milk cho. chips as well. They were moist, chocolatety and gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These are delicious! My kids and their friends gobbled right up. They are moist and light in color. My husband thought they were kind of dense but so is he.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
My kids love these muffins with or without the extra recommended sugar...they are always asking for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States