Chocolate Chip Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Warning! These cookies expand to nearly twice their size when you bake them. I didn't know that and they came out huge! I was looking for a recipe where you wouldn't leave the meringues over night or for several hours but also wouldn't turn the cookies brown. This worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made meringue for a banana pudding. Had extra. Quickly found this recipe, added 1/8 Tsp vinegar and 1/8 tsp vanilla extract to the left over meringue. Threw in 1/4 chocolate chips. Turned out excellent. Hubby loved them. Since they are made of egg whites, I put left over in frig. Became very gooey still good. Anyone tell me why they got so gooey after I put them in frig?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These are awesome. I did get the egg whites to peak, but after I slowly added the sugar, etc. I was unable to get it fluffy. I was worried when I put them on parchment paper that they would flatten, but much to my surprise, they fluffed and mounded into a nice looking cookie. I did cook them longer like the other reviewer suggested. I would like to know how long to beat the mixture because I just kept going even when I thought it was too long. These are exactly how I remember my Mom making when I was little. It has a toasted marshmallow taste thats addictive. Love them and so does my husband Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berry Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Took about 5 minutes from gathering ingredients to in the oven. I used 4 egg whites and about 3/4 C sugar, and i only had about 1 C chocolate chips. I kept in the oven for about 35 minutes at 275-300 and the outsides got nice and browned but the insides werent completely dried. I think next time i will lower the temp and leave them in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These tasted really good, but are they suppose to be almost hollow inside??? Mine were all almost completely air filled! Talk about light! lol. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Ok, made these without vinegar, uck, and they were soooo good. I did half the sugar. They brown up and cook on the outside but are soggy in the middle. You need to lower the temp and after 10 min turn off the oven, but dont open the door and let them sit for a few hours to dry out so they will be crunchy. They have a great flavor, I love all merigunes equally....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yummy! brought back memories from when my mom made these - used the leftover whites from when she made her famous hollandaise sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
it's great put it on some bread with peanut butter it's great 20 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wac74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
use 4 eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These are wonderful! I made the recipe as it was written and everyone loved them. One tip I found is helpful is to use the convection setting on the oven (if you have that option). It makes them cook a little faster and keeps them nice and crispy. I still cooked them longer (about 45 mins). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States