Chocolate Chip Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These are wonderful! I made the recipe as it was written and everyone loved them. One tip I found is helpful is to use the convection setting on the oven (if you have that option). It makes them cook a little faster and keeps them nice and crispy. I still cooked them longer (about 45 mins). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Followed recommendations of others - 4eggs and 1/2 C. Sugar. Had to cook for much longer to get them dry (reducedto 200 degrees for additional 1/2 hour then left in the warm oven for 1/2 hour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I tried to make this cookies. It was delicious. I followed some suggestion in reducing the amount of sugar and choc.chips. However I am having problem with the texture. When it comes out of the oven, it was crispy. But when I let it cool before I store it, it has softened as if never baked. Can somebody tell me what I did wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ain Samat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I've made these a few times, very yummy! I use milk chocolate chips and put cocoa in the "dough" to flavor that a bit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Good. Although I should have cooked them longer. The "leave them in the oven for 3 hours" method is probably best, but I didn't want to tie up the oven that long, so I was happy to see this recipe. I used peppermint extract instead of vanilla, a few drops of green food coloring, and mini chips, and they were just as I remembered as a child. Great for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
OK, I agree with Jenza that these are sweet, but any meringue has this degree of sweetness (and if you try to cut back on the sugar too much, you won't get hard peaks). These are reminiscent of a cookie my best friend's mom used to make when I was a kid, so I was glad to get the recipe. And, it's a super way to use up egg whites which is a real bonus. The cookies can be made without chocolate to cut back on the fat and calories, but can also be made smaller in size. I made over double the amount - and they keep well in an air tight container for a few days. Appreciate the recipe Dodie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I'm giving this a 4 only because it was FAR too sweet! I cut the sugar in half but left the 2 c chocolate chips and holy chocolate batman! Next time I will reduce the chocolate by 1/2-1 cup....also I bet these would taste good with butterscotch chips and toasted almond slices...perhaps I am on to something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
this recipie was amazing and tasted so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe was great! I halved the mixture before I added the chocolate chips and instead added some peppermint extract. Nice and Light! There is not much more that I can say that hasn't already been said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotrgal922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I was searching for meringue cookie recipes and came across this one. My grandmother's recipe is very similar. The only differences are that I don't add vinegar and I pre-heat the oven but turn it off once I've put the cookies in. The cookies then stay in the oven for four hours. Omitting the vinegar makes the cookies fluffier and leaving them in the oven that long allows them to dry w/o the chewiness I've seen in other meringue recipes. But then, I'm a texture person and I like my meringue cookies crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States