Chocolate Chip Meringue Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe is very simple and easy to make! I did follow the suggestions from others: I used 1/4 tsp cream of tartar, sifted the cocoa, baked for 45 mins and left them in the oven after it was turned off for only 45 mins. They came out perfect! I love to bake, but this was my first time making meringues and I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I remember my mom making these cookies when I was a little girl!! They are my all time favorite!! Wonderful recipe very easy to follow. They came out just like I remembered. I left out the coco because my mom never used it and I added a little more vanilla and some extra chocolate chips. I can't stop eating them!! Good thing they are low fat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Super easy and delish! Perfect for the GF/CF people in my life, too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
the flavor is great. however, i did as a reviewer suggested and used splenda. my meringues fell (i've made meringues from different recipes a number of times before and never once had that problem) and, from what i can find on the internet, meringues often fall because the sugar isn't properly incorporated - so i'm assuming it was the splenda. EDIT- made them again and they came out fine with regular sugar. also, if anyone has problems like TXCUTIE920, humidity can be an issue when making meringues. if it is raining or humid, baking meringue(s) may collapse. if the problem is in getting the whites stiff, any trace of water in the bowl or traces of yolk from separating the eggs can prevent the whites from stiffening adequately. supposedly pasteurized whites (the carton kind) aren't suitable for meringue (or so says the package on mine), but they whipped up just fine for me - slightly less stiff than normal whites but not so much so that it was a problem. oh, and, if you're not using an electric mixer of some kind, that might be the problem. i can't imagine whipping whites by hand the way my mixer does on maximum speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe! These are easy and delicious! I used mini chocolate chips and they were perfect! And new holiday go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madison Mom
Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
wasnt too good but think it was the vanilla i added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Wonderful! I lost the recipe I had for making meringue cookies and found this one on this site and gave it a try. They turned out wonderfully. The only change I made was adding a little cream of tartar to the egg whites to help stabilize them. I always add a little cream of tartar when I'm beating egg whites to stiff peaks. My old recipe had choc. chips in it but not cocoa powder. I LOVE the addition of cocoa powder! The only downside is having to wait 3 hours for these to bake. :-) One tip: go ahead and make a double batch! One more tip: I must have made mine too big I got no where near as many cookies as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Extremely easy to make and does not require major ingredients. These are usually staple ingredients in any home. This was the first time I made them and they came out great. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup of splenda since I was adding sugar free chocolate chips.I omitted the cocoa powder cause it contains 3 carbs. Being on a low carb diet, these I will make more in the future ! Also, I did not follow the directions and put the meringues on a pyrex glass and a metal pan to see what would heppen. Well, they stuck to the pan! So, use the parchment paper or foil like the directions say! LOL. But despite it being a crumbled mess, it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I am a total chocoholic and was skeptical at first but I wanted something for a little after-dinner sweet...this totally fit the bill! Mine were borderline chewy on the inside, definitely better the next day. Will add these to my recipe book, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was incredibly simple and delicious. i didn't use cocoa powder though because i didn't have any. i added about 1/2 cup of chopped strawberries to the batter and when they baked with the meringue they sort of turned into jam which was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States