Chocolate Chip Meringue Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Very good recipe, I substituted splenda for half of the sugar and they're still good. They are very choclatey so I probably could have used half as many chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
All 3 of us agree that the chocolate flavor in these is overwhelming. I rather have the original meringues with a hint of lemon. These did have that melt in your mouth consistency and were easy to do. 45 minutes in the oven after turning it off worked fine like most people have said. Using a piping bag with a flower tip will make these look pretty but I just dropped them by teaspoonfulls on the pan (see my pic). Over all, too much chocolate flavor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
My family sort of ruined these cookies as I wasn't in the house when the oven timer went off, so istead of letting these sit, they took them out of the oven and let them cool. They were cooled when I came back in, and ended up kind of stick to your teeth chewy, but with a good flavor. I didn't add the chocolate chips, and the chocolate flavor was still good. I might try these again with some coffee crystals added in, and make sure I'm around to let these set up right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
The first time I made these cookies, I think I might have overbeaten the eggs because the cookies which were baking on the lower rack of the oven kind of collapsed in on themselves in the middles...even so, they were incredibly yummy :). I made a second batch today and before I started beating the eggs, I added a few drops of lemon juice (I heard that a little acidity can help the eggs keep their shape when whipped). This time the cookies baked perfectly - looked just as good as I knew they tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Excellent!! Best meringues I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
These were SO GOOD!! I didn't have cocoa powder on hand so I omitted it, but it didn't ruin the taste at all. They weren't too sweet, just perfect. I am sharing this recipe with everyone I knowm as everyone that has tried then has thought they were bought...Even my hubby "stole" a bag of them to take into his home office. And he doesnt usually eat sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Crossfield, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
These are extremely simple to make, and I can also confirm that Splenda does work well if you’re looking for a healthy option. The trick to making these best is to keep the size small. The first batch I made the drops were about a table spoon in size and they got hollow with a gummy center. My second attempt I used almost level teaspoon size drops and they were truly amazing. When they come out bite sized they just melt in you mouth. I also agree that there is no need for more then 45 minutes of cool down time in the oven after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
these just didn't work out for me. ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
loved this recipe. I'm a WW member, and this is a treat worth sharing with other members. I did alter the recipe a bit after reading other reviewes. I baked them for 45 minutes, added 1/4 teasp. cream of tartar, and sifted the cocoa powder (this gave the cookie mix a better consistancy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Great Recipe! Just a hint: I have discovered that this recipe turns out better on low humidity days, rather on days with a higher humidity and/or rain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States