Chocolate Chip Meringue Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I used splenda in place of sugar (as I do in all my baking), didnt add the choc chips (to make healthier and less sugar) and I still thought they were very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KARENGANELEE
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Very good. For the first batch: I let the egg whites sit out and come to room temperature; used Ghirardelli baking chips (chopped up because they are bigger than Nestle's choc chips) and started eating them after 1 hour of cooling. Second batch: put the eggs in a bowl of hot water for 5 minutes before separating to warm them; substituted chopped walnuts for the choc chips. Got about 30 cookies out of the first batch, about 25 out of the second. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow! These are AMAZING. I've made these kinds of meringues since i was about 8 years old, but i never put cocoa powder in them. They are so chocolatey and delicious. I only give the recipe a 4 because i made some changes, otherwise it would be a 5. I don't have a large oven, so i didn't leave the cookies in after baking for the alotted time (i needed to get the next batch in). This made them much chewier compared to the last batch that i let sit in the oven after being baked which were much more like a crunchy cookie. i prefer the chewy version. i also only put in 2.5 tablespoons of cocoa powder. I will definitely make this again for myself to have as a chocolate fix as well as for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Very good recipe, I substituted splenda for half of the sugar and they're still good. They are very choclatey so I probably could have used half as many chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
All 3 of us agree that the chocolate flavor in these is overwhelming. I rather have the original meringues with a hint of lemon. These did have that melt in your mouth consistency and were easy to do. 45 minutes in the oven after turning it off worked fine like most people have said. Using a piping bag with a flower tip will make these look pretty but I just dropped them by teaspoonfulls on the pan (see my pic). Over all, too much chocolate flavor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
My family sort of ruined these cookies as I wasn't in the house when the oven timer went off, so istead of letting these sit, they took them out of the oven and let them cool. They were cooled when I came back in, and ended up kind of stick to your teeth chewy, but with a good flavor. I didn't add the chocolate chips, and the chocolate flavor was still good. I might try these again with some coffee crystals added in, and make sure I'm around to let these set up right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
The first time I made these cookies, I think I might have overbeaten the eggs because the cookies which were baking on the lower rack of the oven kind of collapsed in on themselves in the middles...even so, they were incredibly yummy :). I made a second batch today and before I started beating the eggs, I added a few drops of lemon juice (I heard that a little acidity can help the eggs keep their shape when whipped). This time the cookies baked perfectly - looked just as good as I knew they tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Excellent!! Best meringues I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
These were SO GOOD!! I didn't have cocoa powder on hand so I omitted it, but it didn't ruin the taste at all. They weren't too sweet, just perfect. I am sharing this recipe with everyone I knowm as everyone that has tried then has thought they were bought...Even my hubby "stole" a bag of them to take into his home office. And he doesnt usually eat sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Crossfield, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
These are extremely simple to make, and I can also confirm that Splenda does work well if you’re looking for a healthy option. The trick to making these best is to keep the size small. The first batch I made the drops were about a table spoon in size and they got hollow with a gummy center. My second attempt I used almost level teaspoon size drops and they were truly amazing. When they come out bite sized they just melt in you mouth. I also agree that there is no need for more then 45 minutes of cool down time in the oven after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States