Chocolate Chip Krispies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This cookie was not as good as I expected, but I think it could be quite improved by reducing the amount of chocolate chips. There were just way too many of them. If I were to try these again, I would reduce the chocolate chips by half to let more of the cookie batter's flavor come through. Also, like others have said, the Rice Crispies added a different texture than expected, less crunchy and instead more chewy than I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This cookie had such promise. everything about it sounded delightful..but believe what you hear.. the cereal crisp turns into "moosh" and leaves the cookie with an odd texture.. and yes 4 cups of choc. chips.. WAY too much.. all in all good idea.. yet it failed to meet a 5 star rating. No go on this cookie ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJack2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Don't add the water...they don't need it. And the additional water makes them puffy and cakey rather than chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneads Speed Runner

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deet31483
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
The texture of these was weird. Definitely not crunchy like you would expect. I might try adding more rice cereal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I only used 2 cups of chocolate chips and that was plenty, 4 would be overkill. Next time I will bake longer, maybe 12 -14 minutes i found them too soft, I like a little crunch. I will make them again for sure, love the krispies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gottagobackintime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
The idea of this recipe is good however, it needed some tweaking. I didnt have rice krispies on hand, but i had fruity pebbles! First off, i cut the recipe in half, the full one would have made WAY to many! I also only added 1 cup of chocolate chips not 2, which would have been way too much! After baking, they turned out great! Colorful and delicious! Personally, i would have added more Fruity Pebbles to get more of a crunch. Definitely making again... with more fruity pebbles and less chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. it didnt have as much "crispy" as i thought it would, though. it was more crunch/chewy. i also used 1 1/2c milk choc chips and 1 1/2c of butterscotch chips and 1c of walnut chips. very good mix of flavors. will make again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
These were so good right out of the oven! I used the chocolate chips I had on hand which were the dairy/gluten free mixed with a little bit of reg. semi sweet. I too reduced to 2 cups and it was plenty. I cant imagine what they would have turned out like with 4 cups! Thank you for a different use for rice cereal other than krispy treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This recipe is fantastic!!! Each cookie is consistent, loaded with chocolate chips, and delicious! I won't make any other chocolate chip recipe again, this is the one to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I didn't like the consistency; excessively tough and chewy. It tasted much better as dough (before eggs were added, of course!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States